Track & Field
Two UK Track Athletes Named Finalists for McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Simidele Adeagbo and Thomas Morgan represent UK on the prestigious list of finalists.

Simidele Adeagbo and Thomas Morgan represent UK on the prestigious list of finalists.

April 9, 2003

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - University of Kentucky track & field seniors Simidele Adeagbo and Thomas Morgan have been chosen by their school as recipients of a Southeastern Conference post-graduate scholarship and are finalists for the 2003 H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, SEC Commissioner Mike Slive announced.

Each league institution nominates one male and one female student-athlete for the prestigious award. The 24 finalists receive the $5,000 scholarship for post-graduate studies. The McWhorter Selection Committee will name the male and female winners in May, with each receiving an additional $10,000 award, provided by Alltel.

Adeagbo is a senior on the UK team, specializing in the triple and long jumps. The journalism major hails from Louisville, Ky., and earned her third All-America honor in the triple jump at last month's NCAA Indoor Championships. Just last week, Adeagbo broke her own school record in the event with a jump of 44-00.50.

Morgan is a two-time All-America athlete specializing in distance running and relays. He wons school records in the 4 x 800-meter relay, 4 x mile-relay and the distance medley relay. Last month, he earned his second All-America honor as part of UK's distance medley team. He's already claimed one outdoor title this season with a first-place showing in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the Spec Towns Invitational last month.

The awards were first presented in 1986 and were renamed to honor the former conference commissioner, H. Boyd McWhorter (1972-86), in May 1990. This year's winners will be announced at the SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.



Questionnaire Campus Tour