UK Rifle Selected for NCAA Championships

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The Kentucky rifle team was selected as one of eight team qualifiers for the NCAA Championships on Thursday.

This year’s championships will be held March 10-13 in Akron, Ohio at the Robert A. Pinn Shooting Range on the University of Akron campus.

Led by freshman Hanna Carr, Kentucky has ranked inside the top 8 of the rankings all season. Carr, a Versailles, Ky., native, is currently tied for the highest smallbore score in the country with a 592.

Since 2001, the Wildcats have made the NCAA Championships every season. UK finished sixth in last season’s championships with an aggregate score of 4657. Kentucky won the title in 2011.

The top eight teams in both the smallbore three-position and air rifle events were selected based on the average of the three highest regular-season aggregate scores with no more than one match at any given site. The average of the three highest scores was added to the aggregate scores from the designated qualifiers to determine the top eight teams. 

A total of 48 competitors will compete in the championships, with 40 competitors coming from the top eight teams selected. The remaining eight competitors were selected based on the scores submitted from the designated qualifier.


Team Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position and Air Rifle)

Alaska Fairbanks


Murray State University


Ohio State


Air Force

West Virginia


Individual Qualifiers (Air Rifle)

Samantha Bullard (Jacksonville State University)

Alyssa Gestl (U.S. Military Academy)

Lucas Kozeniesky (North Carolina State University)

Ali Weisz (University of Mississippi)


Individual Qualifiers (Smallbore Three-Position)

Nathan Brewer (U.S. Military Academy)

Amy Fister (University of Memphis)

Mekenna Richardson (Jacksonville State University)


Individual Qualifiers (Air Rife and Smallbore Three-Position)

Caitlyn Ford (North Carolina State University)