Women's Tennis Travels to Roberta Alison Classic

Oct. 4, 2012

Roberta Alison Draws Get Acrobat Reader

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The University of Kentucky women's tennis team will stay in Southeastern Conference territory for its second event of the fall, competing in the 25th Roberta Alison Fall Classic Friday and Saturday, hosted by the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa, Ala.

The two-day event will kick off Friday morning with one round of doubles play at 10 a.m. ET, before transitioning into two rounds of singles competition in the afternoon. The classic consists of nine individual draws and four doubles draws. Each individual draw features eight individuals, excluding the gold draw that only has six. The four doubles draws each feature eight pairs with the bronze draw featuring 10.

The field of 15 is made up of Alabama, Auburn, Clemson, Florida State, Georgia State, Georgia Tech, Kentucky, Middle Tennessee, Michigan, Mississippi State, Northwestern, Ole Miss, Samford, UAB and Vanderbilt. The 15-team field consists of eight teams that finished last season in the top 50.

The Wildcats have eight players set to compete individually, including Khristina Blajkevitch, Stephanie Fox, Caitlin McGraw, Edmée Morin-Kougoucheff, Nadia Ravita, Jessica Stiles, Grace Trimble and Kirsten Lewis. All eight Kentucky players will also pair up for doubles competition as well.

The event honors former Alabama tennis standout, Roberta Alison. Alison helped pave the way for collegiate women's tennis after joining the University of Alabama men's tennis team in the early 1960's. She excelled against her male opponents while also winning women's collegiate singles championship titles in both 1962 and 1963.


Roberta Alison Fall Classic
Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Oct. 5-6, 2012

Friday Doubles Competition:
Fox/Trimble (UK) vs. Simon/Fernandez (UAB)
Ravita/Lewis (UK) vs. Prokhenvska/Minor (Georgia Tech)
Blajkevitch/Morin-Kougoucheff (UK) vs. Gumulya/Dewar (Clemson)
Stiles/McGraw (UK) vs. Altick/Sellyn (Vanderbilt)

Friday Singles Competition:
Nadia Ravita (UK) vs. Maya Jansen (Alabama)
Caitlin McGraw (UK) vs. Nida Hamilton (Samford)
Kirsten Lewis (UK) vs. Linda Abu Mushrefova (Northwestern)
Grace Trimble (UK) vs. Menanteau Moolmah (UAB)
Edmée Morin-Kougoucheff (UK) vs. Adri Lochner (Samford)
Stephanie Fox (UK) vs. Amy Lowther (UAB)
Khristina Blajkevitch (UK) vs. Chalmaa Roudami (Georgia State)
Jessica Stiles (UK) vs. Kendal Woodard (Georgia Tech)