Women's Tennis Set to Host Annual UK Invitational

Sept. 29, 2011

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The University of Kentucky women's tennis team has invited eight schools to the team's annual fall tournament. The participating teams are Armstrong Atlantic, Cleveland State, Eastern Kentucky, Evansville, Kansas, Miami University, Morehead State and Purdue.

Tournament play will begin Friday morning at 8:30 a.m. ET with doubles matches, and singles play will follow at noon. The tournament features four, eight-team doubles draws and seven, eight-person singles draws.

The Hillary J. Boone Varsity Tennis Complex will be the home of the tournament. The outdoor stadium seats up to 1,500 for its two center courts and has seven additional hard courts outside. Inside, the tennis center holds four courts with a seating capacity of 1,000.

Tournament play will last through Sunday afternoon. For more information, check the UK Invitational Tournament Central site.

Kentucky began fall play at the Kansas Invitational and the Muirfield Tournament on September 16th. The team was led by strong performances from sophomores Khristina Blajkevitch and Cece Witten, who took fifth place in doubles play at the Kansas Invitational. At the Muirfield Tournament, freshman Edmee Morin made an impressive debut, winning three of her four singles matches.

For continuing coverage of UK women's tennis log on to UKathletics.com.