Johnston Claims Fourth Post-Season Award

May 12, 2010

LEXINGTON, Ky.  - Senior Christine Johnston was named the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship recipient for the Ohio Valley region on Wednesday. The Columbus, Oh. native is one of twelve regional winners who will be honored at the NCAA Championships in Athens, Ga. on May 19 where a national overall winner will be crowned.

The Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship is given to a women's player who displays inspiring dedication and commitment to her team, which has enhanced her team's performance and exemplified the spirit of college tennis. Johnston held the best record on the team with 13-7 (7-3) in singles play and was awarded the trio of SEC Community Service team, CATSPYs Character Award and All-SEC Second Team to conclude her time at Kentucky.

This is Johnston's first ITA nod and the first for Kentucky in five years. Mark Gilbeau was the ITA Coach of the Year and Carlos Drada was appointed Assistant Coach of the Year in 2005. The last Wildcat to be a regional ITA winner was Sarah Foster in 2005 by claiming the Rookie of the Year Award for the Southeast region.

Northwest - Marina Cossou, California
Southwest - Nadia Abdala, Arizona State
Mountain - Pichittra Thongdach, Boise State
Texas - Nina Munch-Soegaard, TCU
Central - Florentina Hanisch, Wichita State
Midwest - Megan Fudge, Illinois
Northeast - Mary Beth Winingham, Dartmouth College
Ohio Valley  - Christine Johnston, Kentucky
Atlantic - Erin Clark, University of Richmond
Carolina - Paige Kensrue, Elon University
Southern - Lindsey Mallory, Samford
Southeast - Cameron Ellis, Georgia