Freshmen Earn Women's Tennis SEC Honors

April 25, 2012

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The University of Kentucky women’s tennis team had two members receive Southeastern Conference honors, the league office announced on Wednesday. After impressive breakout seasons, freshmen Stephanie Fox and Edmée Morin-Kougoucheff were named to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Both freshmen made an immediate impact upon their arrivals at UK. They played vital roles on the team as the only two members of the 2011-12 squad to make an appearance in every regular season match. 

Morin-Kougoucheff, a native of Capbreton, France, worked her way into the starting lineup with ease, finding a home at the No. 3 and No. 4 singles slots. She found the greatest success at the No. 4 slot, posting a 5-2 record, 2-1 in the SEC. She proved her worth in doubles, compiling an even 11-11 record against multiple ranked opponents and tough competitors.

Fox provided fierce competition for the Cats throughout the coarse of the season. The Huntington, W.Va., native occupied four of the six singles slots throughout the season, finding the greatest fit in the No. 4 and No. 5 slot where she went 6-7 and 3-3 respectively. She also found great success with sophomore Cece Witten at the No. 2 and No. 3 doubles positions, earning a 5-2 record.

This is the first SEC honor for either freshman. Players from No. 6 Georgia, No. 16 Ole Miss, No. 26 Vanderbilt joined Fox and Morin-Kougoucheff as members of the All-Freshman Team.

Alabama’s Jenny Mainz was named Coach of the Year, while Lauren Embree, was honored as Player of the Year. Georgia’s Lauren Herring, a member of the All-SEC First Team and the All-SEC Freshman Team, snagged the Freshman of the Year honor. Courtney McLane of Alabama was named the Scholar Athlete of the Year.

For more information on the UK women's tennis team, log on to 

2012 Southeastern Conference Women’s Tennis Awards

Coach of the Year: Jenny Mainz, Alabama

Player of the Year: Lauren Embree, Florida

Freshman of the Year: Lauren Herring, Georgia

Scholar Athlete of the Year: Courtney McLane, Alabama


All-SEC First Team

Alexa Guarachi, Alabama

Mary Anna Macfarlane, Alabama

Lauren Embree, Florida

Joanna Mather, Florida

Sofie Oyen, Florida

Allie Will, Florida

Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia

Lauren Herring, Goergia

Maho Kowase, Georgia

Kristi Boxx, Ole Miss

Brynn Boren, Tennessee

Jackie Wu, Vanderbilt


All-SEC Second Team

Courtney McLane, Alabama

Alexandra Cercone, Florida

Caroline Hitimana, Florida

Kate Fuller, Georgia

Nadja Gilchrist, Georgia

Lilly Kimbell, Georgia

Abby Guthrie, Ole Miss

Carolina Rohde-Moe, Ole Miss

Jaklin Alawi, South Carolina

Anya Morgina, South Carolina

Natalie Pluskota, Tennessee

Kata Szekely, Tennessee

Marie Casares, Vanderbilt

Lauren Mira, Vanderbilt


All-Freshman Team

Lauren Herring, Georgia

Marie Casares, Vanderbilt

Ashleigh Antal, Vanderbilt

Julia Jones, Ole Miss

Erin Stephens, Ole Miss

Stephanie Fox, Kentucky

Edmée Morin-Kougoucheff, Kentucky