No. 20 Kentucky to Defend Flawless Start Against Clemson

Feb. 28, 2009

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The No. 20 Wildcats (7-0 overall, 0-0 Southeastern Conference) are on a roll, having knocked out three ranked opponents and earning seven consecutive wins, a feat that hadn't been accomplished since before 1990. Kentucky is looking to defend its flawless streak when they play host to No. 14 Clemson on Sun., March 1 at noon in the Hilary J. Boone Tennis Complex.

Kentucky will face possibly its biggest challenge when they play the Tigers. Clemson is the highest ranked opponent UK has matched up with this season. However, the Wildcats toppled the top-20 team last season in Clemson, S.C., 5-2.

Clemson was 2008's Atlantics Coast Conference Champions and made it into the NCAA Round of 16. The Tigers have played three of Kentucky's southeastern counterparts, Auburn, South Carolina and Georgia, dropping only a 4-3 match to Georgia. CU played its first ACC match against Georgia Tech on Wednesday. Clemson carries three ranked individuals into Sunday's match, No. 2 Ani Mijacika, No. 15 Josipa Bek, and No. 114 Keri Wong. The Tigers also have four doubles teams in the rankings as Mijacika pairs with Wong for the No. 10 tandem; Bek and Ina Hadziselimovic make the No. 27 duo; Hadziselimovic and Wong create the No. 50 pair and Federica van Adrichem and Mijacika are tied for 31st.

After suffering defeat to Indiana for the past two seasons, UK broke its dry spell against the Hoosiers, defeating the Cream and Crimson, 6-1. The Wildcats swept doubles and then toppled Indiana on courts one through five, respectively. Junior Christine Johnston secured the fourth point for the Cats, the second match she has done so for Kentucky.

Johnston and freshman Caroline Lilley lead the Cats in dual-match play, each undefeated with seven and six wins, respectively. Junior Whitney Spencer has also won all five of her matches.
The Wildcats have three home matches remaining until they hit the road for two weeks. Following the match against Clemson, the Cats will begin conference play by hosting Florida on March 6 and South Carolina on March 8.