Softball Team, 12 Players Honored by NFCA for Academics

Sept. 30, 2014

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The University of Kentucky softball team's first-ever trip to the Women's College World Series earlier this year wasn't the only significant honor for the squad in 2014 as the National Fastpitch Coaches Association has announced that 12 UK softball student-athletes have been named NFCA All-America Scholar Athletes.

The 12 players honored as NFCA All-America Scholar Athletes are Ginny Carroll, Lauren Cumbess, Sarah Frazer, Emily Jolly, Griffin Joiner, Megan Prince, Breanne Ray, Darington Richardson, Krystal Smith, Shannon Smith, Maisie Steed and Christian Stokes. The award is bestowed upon any player, submitted by a member coach, who achieved a 3.5 grade-point average or higher during the 2013-14 academic year.

The success of the 12 honorees led Kentucky to an impressive 3.56 team GPA for the 2013-14 academic year. The GPA was the best among 13 Southeastern Conference teams for the 2013-14 academic year and the ninth highest in Division I softball overall. The Wildcats are one of only two teams from a BCS conference to make the top-10 GPA listing.

"Our administration puts a high emphasis on academics at Kentucky and I am very proud of our student-athletes for recognizing the importance of performing well in the classroom and making it a priority," UK head coach Rachel Lawson said. "Our players work extremely hard on and off the field, but this would not be possible without an exceptional academic support staff, especially our academic counselor Amy Craiglow. She is the best in the nation and I am happy to see her hard work recognized by these honors today."

Earlier this year, 18 players were honored by the SEC for academic success. A total of 15 players, Ginny Carroll, Lauren Cumbess, Sarah Frazer, Emily Gaines, Kara Howard, Griffin Joiner, Emily Jolly, Kelsey Nunley, Darington Richardson, Nikki Sagermann, Sylver Samuel, Ansley Smith, Krystal Smith, Maisie Steed and Christian Stokes, were named to the 2014 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll. Newcomers Meagan Prince, Breanne Ray and Shannon Smith were named to the 2014 SEC First-Year Honor Roll.

For more information about UK softball, follow @UKSoftball on Twitter and Instagram, or like Kentucky Softball on Facebook.