Johnson, Yocke Repeat on All-Region Team

May 20, 2010

LEXINGTON, Ky. - Senior Molly Johnson and junior Megan Yocke were named to the All-Southeast Region team for the second consecutive season it was announced by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Thursday. Johnson was tabbed the first-team shortstop with Yocke earning second-team catcher honors.

Both players were selections to the All-Southeast Region team a season ago as well - and it marks the first time since Nikki Jones earned back-to-back honors in 2002 and 2003 that a Wildcat has earned an All-Region nod in consecutive seasons. However, the honor for a pair of Kentucky players is the first in school allure.

Johnson paces the Blue and White in nearly every offensive category including batting average (.385) and home runs (11). The senior is the cornerstone of the UK defense as she is having a banner year defensively with a career-best .943 fielding percentage. UK's senior ranks first all-time at Kentucky in career batting average, slugging percentage, home runs, doubles, total bases and runs scored. She has enjoyed another tremendous offensive season charting at least one hit in all but 13 games this season.

Yocke continues to steadily improve both offensively and defensively in each season of her career. The junior backstop is charting a career-high .327 batting average and another impressive season defensively with a team-best .995 fielding clip. The junior leads the squad with 12 sacrifice hits and two sac flies showing her versatility and unselfishness. She ranks among UK's all-time best in batting average, slugging percentage, home runs, doubles, triples and putouts.

The duo will lead the Wildcats in their second consecutive appearance at the NCAA Tournament beginning Friday. UK takes on Ohio State at 7:30 p.m. ET in the opening game of the double-elimination Regional.

Stay tuned to for the most up-to-date information about the Wildcats at the NCAA Tournament.

Southeast Region Teams

First TeamP Stephanie Brombacher University of Florida
P Whitney Kiihni Lipscomb University
C Tiffany Huff University of Tennessee
1B Megan Bush University of Florida
2B Jen Yee Georgia Institute of Technology
3B Alisa Goler University of Georgia
SS Molly Johnson University of Kentucky
UT/P Danielle Spaulding University of North Carolina
UT/DP Brittany Schutte University of Florida
OF Kat Dotson University of Tennessee
OF Francesca Enea University of Florida
OF Taylor Schlopy University of Georgia

Second TeamP Sarah Hamilton Florida State University
P Ivy Renfro University of Tennessee
C Megan Yocke University of Kentucky
1B Kristine Priebe Georgia Institute of Technology
2B Aja Paculba University of Florida
3B Jessica Spigner University of Tennessee
SS Kelsi Weisman Georgia Institute of Technology
UT/P Hope Rush Georgia Institute of Technology
UT/DP Brook Short Longwood University
OF Raven Chavanne University of Tennessee
OF Megan Wiggins University of Georgia
OF Carly Wynn Florida State University