Women's Golf Selected to 2012 NCAA Championship Field

May 1, 2012

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The University of Kentucky women’s golf team was selected to the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship for the 17th time in program history Monday night. The Wildcats made the field of 72 for the second-consecutive season, and will compete in the Central Regional.                             

The Central Regional will be held at the Ohio State Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio with Ohio State University serving as the host with competition dates slated for May 10-12.

“We are excited to have been selected,” said UK head coach Golda Johansson Borst. “Lucy (Nunn) and I both have great memories at the Scarlett course. It was my last collegiate tournament when it hosted the 2006 National Championship and it was Lucy’s first National Championship.”

The 24-team regional features seven Southeastern Conference teams, including SEC Champion, Auburn. Georgia, Vanderbilt, Tennessee, Arkansas and Ole Miss also represent the SEC in the Central Regional. The regional boasts seven conference champions, including Auburn, South Florida, UTSA, UNC Wilmington, Harvard, Butler and Siena. The remaining field consists of Southern California, Ohio State, Oregon, North Carolina State, Virginia, Florida St., Purdue, Texas State, Notre Dame, East Carolina and Michigan.

Kentucky enters the Central Regional coming off a ninth-place finish at the 2012 SEC Championship. Senior Ashlee Rose led the Wildcats, finishing in a tie for 12th at 14-over-par 230. Junior Betsie Johnson finished the Championship in a tie for 29th at 22-over-par 238.

“I believe this golf course will set up to our strengths which are distance off the tee and placing the ball around the greens,” said coach Borst. “We will focus even more on our short game in this coming week and be ready to give it our all next week.”

The NCAA Women’s Golf Championship is made up of three regionals that each consist of 24 teams and six individuals. With the Central Regional being held in Columbus, Ohio, the East Regional will be held in State College, Penn. while the West Regional will be hosted by the University of Colorado in Erie, Colorado.

The three regional sites are preliminary rounds the NCAA Championship. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional to participate in the championship’s finals at Vanderbilt Legends Club in Franklin, Tenn. on May 22-25.

For more information regarding the University of Kentucky women’s golf team please go to UKathletics.com.

Teams and individual seeds are listed below. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in a parenthesis.


2012 NCAA Championship – Central Regional
May 10-12, Columbus, Ohio
Ohio State Scarlet Course

1. Southern California
2. Auburn (Southeastern Conference)
3. Georgia
4. Vanderbilt
5. Tennessee
6. Ohio St.
7. Oregon
8. North Carolina St.
9. Virginia
10. Florida St.
11. Purdue
12. Arkansas
13. Ole Miss
14. Kentucky
15. Texas St.
16. South Fla. (Big East Conference)
17. Notre Dame
18. UTSA (Southland Conference)
19. East Carolina
20. Michigan
21. UNC Wilmington (Colonial Athletic Association)
22. Harvard (The Ivy League)
23. Butler (Horizon League)
24. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1. Madeleine Shiels, Nebraska
2. Alex Buelow, Stetson
3. Rika Park, Miami (FL)
4. Brittany Henderson, Costal Caro.
5. Leticia Ras-Anderica, Miami (FL)
6. Gabriella Wahl, East Tenn. St.