Moir Named 2012-13 Davis SEC Female Community Service Leader of the Year

April 4, 2013

LEXINGTON, Ky. – University of Kentucky women’s golfer Megan Moir has been named the 2012-13 Brad Davis Southeastern Conference Female Community Service Leader of the Year, Commissioner Mike Slive announced Thursday. University of Missouri swimmer Joseph Hladik was selected as the male athlete of the year from a list of 28 total nominees, one male and female from each of the respective SEC schools.

Moir becomes the second Wildcat to win the award, joining former football player Antoine Huffman who garnered the accolade in 2006.

Hladik and Moir chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC universities. Each will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC.

Football player Matt Smith was UK’s male nominee for the award and will receive a $5,000 scholarship provided by the SEC.

“I am humbled and honored to receive the Brad Davis award,” Moir said. “It would not have been possible if it weren't for my passion and faith in Jesus Christ. It has truly been a privilege to represent the University of Kentucky and the SEC the past five years. I am blessed to be a part of such a supportive athletic department that has given me so many opportunities in my sport as well as in my community. I could not be more thankful for my coaches who encourage me to love and serve through their selfless leadership and mentoring role in my life. I would also like to thank my family for always believing in me and encouraging me to chase after my dreams. I am so very proud to be a Wildcat and it feels good to be able to represent the university that means so much to me.”

Moir graduated summa cum laude with a B.S. degree in accounting and marketing in May 2012. She is currently working towards a master’s degree in sports leadership, which is expected to be completed in May 2013.

Moir is a team captain, a two-time Academic All-American and member of both the SEC Academic Honor Roll and the UK Athletics Director’s Honor Roll. A member of the SEC Community Service Team, Moir has been inducted into Kentucky’s prestigious Frank G. Ham Society of Character.

She participated in a service trip to Ethiopia with other University of Kentucky student-athletes in the summer of 2012. Moir organized and planned a program called Dodging Homeless in Ethiopia and has been a part of similar projects in the Ramona Gardens Housing Project and the Faith in Christ Community Center in Los Angeles.

Moir is president of Kentucky’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and is heavily involved in Athletes in Action. She has performed more than 700 hours of community service in the Lexington, Ky., area during her time as a student-athlete.

She is a nominee for the John Wooden Cup and earned the 2012 CATSPY Award for community service. She finished among the top-10 graduates of the University of Kentucky B.S. in accounting program in May 2012.

A native of Louisville, Ky., Moir is the daughter of Rick and Donna Moir.

“We are extremely proud of Megan for receiving this award,” Kentucky head coach Golda Johansson Borst said. “Megan is one of the most impressive players that I have ever worked with and she embodies what it means to be a true student-athlete. From balancing schoolwork, practice, play and making a mark in our community, she does everything wholeheartedly. Because of that she has left a strong mark on our program and the University of Kentucky as a whole. Megan is a strong leader and I know that she will make a difference in the world, no matter what she decides to do in life.”

The 13 additional male recipients are: Cameron Carlisle (Alabama), baseball; Alfred Davis (Arkansas), football; Kyle Owens (Auburn), swimming; Cameron Martin (Florida), swimming; Reuben Faloughi (Georgia), football; Matt Smith (Kentucky), football; Timothy Dasinger (LSU), swimming; Tanner Bailey (Ole Miss), baseball; Sam Williams (Mississippi State), football; Patrick Sullivan (South Carolina), baseball; Herman Lathers (Tennessee), football; Steven Terrell (Texas A&M), football; and Johnell Thomas (Vanderbilt), football.

The 13 additional female recipients are: Tabitha Coleman (Alabama), rowing; Kelci Lewis (Arkansas), gymnastics; Amy Howard (Auburn), soccer; Kelsey Horton (Florida), softball; Noel Couch (Georgia), gymnastics; Natalie Ieyoub (LSU), soccer; Brittany Broome (Ole Miss), softball; Alyssa Hall (Mississippi State), track and field; Allison Heizelman (Missouri), gymnastics; Breanna Radford (South Carolina), track and field; Taber Spani (Tennessee), basketball; Bethany West (Texas A&M), soccer; and Kim Carper (Vanderbilt), bowling.

The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship was first presented in 1996. Past Leaders of the Year include:  2012 – Cullen Doody, LSU (track and field) and Leigh Gilmore, Alabama (track and field); 2011 – Barnabus Kirui, Ole Miss (track and field) and Bridget Lyons, Georgia (track and field); 2010 – John Egan, Georgia (track and field) and Krissy Voss, Auburn (gymnastics); 2009 – Andrew Smith, Auburn (basketball) and Brionna Dickerson, South Carolina (basketball); 2008 – William Brown, South Carolina (football) and Brooke Shinaberry, Vanderbilt (lacrosse); 2007 – Brad Boswell, Tennessee (swimming) and Stacey Stevens, Florida (softball); 2006 – Antoine Huffman, Kentucky (football) and Hannah McLeod, Arkansas (gymnastics); 2005 – Jordan Fairclotch, LSU (baseball) and Holly Hodges, South Carolina (diving); 2004 – Michael Boynton, South Carolina (basketball) and Virginia Pate, Georgia (swimming & diving); 2003 - Brett Kirouac, Georgia (football) and Kara Lawson, Tennessee (basketball); 2002 - Eric vanGoethem, Auburn (swimming) and Andree’ Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics); 2001 - Lance Jones, Ole Miss (basebal) and Gabby Fuchs, Florida (gymnastics); 2000 - Brett Millican, Georgia (football) and Brooke Riley, Ole Miss (soccer); 1999 - BJ McKie, South Carolina (basketball) and Carrie Kuhnell, Kentucky (soccer); 1998 - Walker Jones, Ole Miss (football) and Nicole Lees, Alabama (soccer); 1997 - Tim Lanier, LSU (baseball) and Andrea Bullock, Vanderbilt (golf); 1996 - Tony Johnson, Alabama (football) and Erin Tenbrunsel, Alabama (volleyball).