UK Hoops Picked Second in SEC Preseason Coaches' Poll

Oct. 28, 2010

LEXINGTON, Ky. -  The University of Kentucky women's basketball team was picked to finish second in the Southeastern Conference this season in a voting of the 12 league coaches, as announced by the league office Thursday.

Tennessee, which returns all five starters from a squad that went 32-3 and won both the 2010 SEC regular-season and tournament championships last year, was selected to finish first in the league followed by Kentucky. The Wildcats finished 28-8 overall, 11-5 in SEC play last season, and advanced to the regional finals of the NCAA Tournament after defeating Liberty, No. 24/25 Michigan State and No. 4/4 Nebraska. The Cats' run to the Final Four ended with a loss to No. 12/12 Oklahoma. Kentucky returns three starters, including  Victoria Dunlap , A'dia Mathies (Louisville, Ky.) and  Keyla Snowden  (Lexington, Ky.), while adding one of the top recruiting classes in the nation.

Tennessee topped the order of finish with 121 points, with Kentucky (108), LSU (93), Georgia (88), Vanderbilt (88) and Auburn (59) rounding out the top half of the league. South Carolina (48), Alabama (43), Ole Miss (42), Florida (39), Arkansas (35) and Mississippi St. (28) completed the bottom half. 

Dunlap, a 6-foot-1 forward from Nashville, Tenn., was picked to repeat as SEC Player of the Year by the league coaches, collecting eight of the 12 votes. She also was the preseason SEC Player of the Year selection by the media. Tennessee's Shekinna Stricklen was picked second with two votes followed by Marah Strickland (South Carolina) and Jence Rhoads (Vanderbilt) with one vote each. Dunlap led Kentucky in almost every statistical category last season, averaging 18.1 points and 8.4 rebounds per game and guiding the Wildcats to the NCAA Elite Eight. She was named 2010 SEC Player of the Year for her efforts.

Joining Dunlap on the All-SEC first team was Mathies, last year's SEC Freshman of the Year, Alli Smalley (Auburn), Porsha Phillips (Georgia), LaSondra Barrett (LSU), Angie Bjorklund (Tennessee), Shekinna Stricklen (Tennessee), and Jence Rhoads (Vanderbilt).

Points were compiled on a 12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each coach voted for one team as an overall conference champion, an eight-player All-SEC Team and a player of the year.

Season and single-game tickets for UK Hoops' exciting 15-game home schedule are available for purchase by visiting the Joe Craft Center Ticket Office in person, calling 1-800-928-2287 or going online at

The Wildcats' lone exhibition game of the season is free and scheduled for Sunday, Nov. 7 against Kentucky Wesleyan at 2 p.m. ET. The season opener is Friday, Nov. 12 against Morehead State at 11 a.m. ET, marking the first Division I women's basketball game of the 2010-11 season.



1. Tennessee 121

2. Kentucky    108

3. LSU                                                93

T4. Georgia                                          88

T4. Vanderbilt                                       88

6. Auburn                                            59

7. South Carolina                                  48

8. Alabama                                          43

9. Ole Miss                                          42

10. Florida                                           39

11. Arkansas                                        35

12. Mississippi State                               28



Alli Smalley, Auburn

Porsha Phillips, Georgia

Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky

A'dia Mathies, Kentucky

LaSondra Barrett, LSU

Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee

Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee

Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt



Tierney Jenkins, Alabama

C'eira Ricketts, Arkansas

Jasmine James, Georgia

Katherine Graham, LSU

Marah Strickland, South Carolina

Kelley Cain, Tennessee

Glory Johnson, Tennessee

Hannah Tuomi, Vanderbilt


 PLAYER OF THE YEAR                          POINTS

Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky                                  8

Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee                          2

Marah Strickland, South Carolina                       1

Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt                               1