Dunlap Named USBWA All-American

March 31, 2010

LEXINGTON, Ky.  –  University of Kentucky junior  Victoria Dunlap was honored as a member of the 2009-10 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team it was announced Wednesday. Dunlap is the first player from UK to earn USBWA All-America honors since the association began naming a team during the 1996-97 season.

The Southeastern Conference Player of the Year by the AP and the league's coaches earned a spot on the 10-member All-America team by leading the Wildcats on both sides of the ball this season. The 6-foot-1 forward averaged 18.1 points, 8.4 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 1.9 blocks per game and was the only player to rank among the SEC's top three in scoring and rebounding.

A standout defensive player, Dunlap is among the nation's leaders in steals (15th), points per game (38 th ) and blocks (49th). She set new UK single-season records in blocks (66), blocks per game (1.90) and steals (107). Offensively, Dunlap led the Wildcats in scoring 19 times, posted nine double-doubles and scored 20 or more points 15 times, including a team-high 31 points vs. Oklahoma. She helped lead UK to a school-record 28 wins, including 11 in the SEC and anchored the Wildcats to their first NCAA Elite Eight appearance since 1982.

She concluded her outstanding junior season ranking on several UK career lists, including 12th in scoring (1,284), third in blocks (129), fourth in rebounding (811) and double-doubles (22) and eighth in steals (207).

With 1,284 points and 811 rebounds, Dunlap becomes only the third player in school history to chart over 1,000 points and 800 rebounds in a career. She joins Valerie Still (2,763 points and 1,525 rebounds) and Leslie Nichols (1,797 points and 877 rebounds) on that elite list.

Dunlap also was named to The Associated Press All-America third team and is a top-40 finalist for the State Farm Coaches' All-America Team .

Following is the complete list of 2009-10 USBWA women's honors:

Jayne Appel , Stanford (F/C, 6-4, Sr., Pleasant Hill, Calif.)
Tina Charles , Connecticut (C, 6-4, Sr., Jamaica, N.Y.)
Alysha Clark , Middle Tennessee (F, 5-10, Sr., Mt. Juliet, Tenn.)
Victoria Dunlap , Kentucky (F, 6-1, Jr., Nashville, Tenn.)
Kelsey Griffin , Nebraska (F, 6-2, Sr., Eagle River, Alaska)
Jantel Lavender , Ohio State (C, 6-4, Jr., Cleveland, Ohio)
Maya Moore , Connecticut (F, 6-0, Jr., Lawrenceville, Ga.)
Nnemkadi Ogwumike , Stanford (F, 6-2, So., Cypress, Texas)
Jasmine Thomas , Duke (G, 5-9, Jr., Fairfax, Va.)
Monica Wright , Virginia (G, 5-11, Sr., Woodbridge, Va.)

Player of the Year: Tina Charles, Connecticut
Coach of the Year: Connie Yori, Nebraska
Freshman of the Year: Brittney Griner, Baylor

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association , formed in 1956, has named a women's All-America team since the 1996-97 season. The association has also named a national player of the year since 1987-88 and a national coach of the year since 1989-90. In 2002-03, the USBWA initiated an award for the nation's top freshman. For more information about the USBWA and its award programs, contact Executive Director Joe Mitch in the Missouri Valley Conference office at 314-421-0339.