Kentucky Plays Host to SEC Men's Tennis Championship

Video: Emery previews SEC Tournament

Four of the nation's top-12 teams, 12 of the top-50 singles players, and a dozen of the top-50 doubles teams will gather at the University of Kentucky for the 2010 Southeastern Conference Men's Tennis Championship April 22-25 at the Hillary J. Boone Tennis Complex.

The 12-team championship, considered one of the top collegiate tennis tournaments in the country, is headlined by second-ranked and regular-season SEC champion Tennessee, No. 6 Florida, 10th-ranked Georgia and host No. 12 Kentucky.

Tennessee's J.P. Smith ranks first in the nation in singles play and couples with Davey Sandgren to make up the fourth-ranked doubles tandem. The Volunteers (23-1, 11-0 SEC) went undefeated in SEC play for the first time since 1990.

Other highly ranked singles players include Florida's Alexandre Lacroix at No. 5, Kentucky's Eric Quigley at No. 13, Auburn's Tim Puetz at No. 20, Alabama's Seketh Myneni at No. 22 and Georgia's Javier Garrapiz at No. 23. Florida (17-3, 9-1 SEC) lost just one conference match, while Georgia (17-6, 9-2) was undefeated in league play until its last two matches of the season. No. 19 Ole Miss (16-6, 7-4) finished atop the SEC Western Division standings.

"It's always special to have the SEC Tournament here at Kentucky," UK head coach Dennis Emery said. "It's always a great tournament and this coming week should be more of the same with four teams ranked in the top 10. It's a great opportunity for people in the community, and young players especially, to come out and see great college tennis and see the intensity level at which these guys compete."

Kentucky (23-7, 8-3 SEC) enters the tournament having won 12 of their last 13 matches, including each of their last seven. UK has won five matches this season against teams ranked in top 16. Quigley is undefeated in singles play this month with a 9-0 mark. UK is coming off a 7-0 home win over then-No. 31 Vanderbilt on Saturday.

"We've played really well at the end of the season and have finished strong," Emery said. "If we continue to play with the same purpose we have been, we have a chance to play well in the SEC Tournament this coming week and the NCAA Tournament in May."


Thursday, April 22
Match 1: #11 Arkansas vs. #6 Auburn, 9 a.m.
Match 2: #10 Mississippi State vs. #7 Vanderbilt, Noon
Match 3: #12 South Carolina vs. #5 Ole Miss, 3 p.m.
Match 4: #9 LSU vs. #8 Alabama, 6 p.m.

Friday, April 23
Match 5: Winner Match 1 vs. #3 Georgia, 9 a.m.
Match 6: Winner Match 2 vs. #2 Florida, Noon
Match 7: Winner Match 3 vs. #4 Kentucky, 3 p.m.
Match 8: Winner Match 4 vs. #1 Tennessee, 6 p.m.

Saturday, April 24
Match 9: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6, 10 a.m.
Match 10: Winner Match 7 vs. Winner Match 8, 1 p.m.

Sunday, April 25 Match 11: Winner Match 9 vs. Winner Match 10, 1 p.m.

All times Eastern and subject to change.


Tickets for the championships are on sale now. Fans can purchase championship passes and single-day tickets by calling 1-800-928-CATS 1-800-928-CATS or in person at the UK ticket office at the Joe Craft Center, Monday-Friday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Ticket prices include:
Adult Championship Pass (all four days): $10
Child/Senior/Student Championship Pass (all four days): $6
Adult Single Day: $4
Child/Senior/Student Single Day: $2

The Hilary J. Boone Tennis Complex will open 1 hour prior to the start of each day. (Cash ONLY at the Boone Tennis Complex) Ticket Sales/Will Call/Player Pass will be located outside at the northwest corner of the facility.


Spectators are asked to park in Parking Structure #7 located next to tennis complex on Sports Center Drive. Fans attending the event may purchase one-time use parking vouchers at the ticket tent for $3. Other lots near the UK tennis complex are residential lots (R lots) and are not open for event spectators. Parking in these areas will result in parking fines.