Wildcats Picked Fourth in the SEC East

Jan. 22, 2009


The University of Kentucky men's tennis team was picked fourth in the Eastern Division of the Southeastern Conference by the coaches in their preseason poll released by the league office in Birmingham, Ala., today.

The Wildcats finished the 2008 season in fifth place in the Eastern Division at 12-16 overall and ended the season ranked 40th in the final Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Poll. Kentucky finished the year strong going 6-7 over the last 13 matches of the season. All seven losses came against teams ranked in the top-30, while four of the Cats' victories were over top-40 squads during the late-season stretch.

UK was also represented in the NCAA Singles and Doubles championships last summer at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla., Bruno Agostinelli participated in both championship tournaments while Brad Cox joined Agostinelli on the doubles court.

This year's Kentucky squad will again be led by Agostinelli. The senior is currently ranked 4th nationally in the ITA preseason men's tennis singles poll. Freshman Eric Quigley joins Agostinelli in the singles rankings in the 37th slot. Agostinelli and sophomore Brad Cox are currently tied at 13th in the nation as a doubles tandem.

The Ole Miss Rebels were picked as the overall SEC champion for the second year in a row. Last season, Ole Miss advanced to the NCAA Championship Quarterfinals and is currently ranked ninth in the ITA preseason Rankings.

Tennessee was voted to win the Eastern Division, with Florida second. Georgia was voted third, the Cats fourth, followed by Vanderbilt and South Carolina. The preseason poll is voted on by the SEC head men's tennis coaches and is based on a 6-5-4-3-2-1 count. The complete tally for the poll is below.

2009 Men's Tennis Coaches Preseason Poll

Eastern Division - votes received

1. Tennessee 67
2. Florida 59
3. Georgia 53
5. Vanderbilt 22
6. South Carolina 16

Western Division - votes received

1. Ole Miss 71
2. LSU 54
3. Alabama 44
4. Auburn 43
5. Arkansas 22
6. Mississippi State 18

Overall Regular Season Champion: Ole Miss (7 votes); Tennessee (3); Florida (2)

Head Coach Dennis Emery announced the Sat. Jan. 24th season-opening match-up with North Carolina-Wilmington originally scheduled to commence at 9:00 a.m. ET has been moved up to begin at 8:30 a.m. inside the Boone Tennis Center. The Cats will also face Wright State and Murray State at home later in the day. Stay tuned to UKathletics.com for all of the latest men's tennis news.