Asher, Lodge Named All-Midwest Region

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Kentucky men’s soccer standouts Dylan Asher and Matt Lodge have been selected Third-Team National Soccer Coaches Association of America All-Midwest Region in a voting of region coaches, it was announced.

Asher and Lodge were each named to the third-team on the NSCAA All-Midwest Region Team, the second-consecutive year the duo were named to the third-team All-Midwest Region. Asher and Lodge mark the 19th-consecutive year UK has placed at least one member on the all-region team.

A second-team All-Conference USA honoree, Asher has been a fixture on the backline for the Wildcats since arriving on campus as a freshman in 2010, earning Freshman All-America accolades. A versatile defender who has an ability to play in the midfield, Asher battled injuries in 2011 but still managed to make 11 starts, with three assists. A 2010 Freshman All-Conference USA and second-team All-Conference USA selection, Asher has played in 32 games with two starts in his two-year career. A native of Richardson, Texas, Asher was named a third-team freshman All-America by in 2010.

Lodge, a native of Rossington, England, has now earned two NSCAA All-Midwest Region accolades and three All-Conference USA honors. A junior forward, Lodge is an explosive offensive talent, ranking among the UK career leaders in nearly every offensive category. Lodge ranks eighth in UK career history in goals (17), seventh in points (49), fifth in assists (15), fifth in shots (137) and eighth in game-winning goals (six).

Lodge totaled 24 points in 2011, ranking sixth in UK single-season history, with his 10 assists ranking as the second-most in UK single-season history. All told as a junior, Lodge appeared in 187 games with 16 starts despite missing the final three games of the year due to injury, totaling seven goals and 10 assists. Lodge’s 62 total shots ranked second in UK single-season history. Following the year, Lodge was named third-team All-Conference USA.

Kentucky All-Region Honorees
2011: Dylan Asher, Matt Lodge
2010: Dylan Asher, Matt Lodge
2009: Jason Griffiths, Barry Rice, Dan Williams
2008: Jason Griffiths, Barry Rice, Dan Williams
2007: Barry Rice
2006: Michael D’Agostino, Riley O’Neill
2005: Andy Guenebaum
2004: Jamal Shteiwi, Brandon Stewart
2003: Jamal Shteiwi
2002: Nathan Fleetwood, Jamal Shteiwi
2001: Ilkka Jantti, John Monebrake
2000: Ilkka Jantti
1999: Lee Baker, Giovanni Fernandes, Illka Jantti
1998: Lee Baker, Giovanni Fernandes, Ilkka Jantti
1997: Brien Baltzell, Sean Mondelli
1996: Sean Endicott, Sean Mondelli
1995: Brian Dausman, Todd Weissmueller
1994: Brian Dausman, Tim Fisk
1993: Greg Kotzbauer