Perinovic, Riggs Named NSCAA All-Midwest Region

Dec. 10, 2013

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Kentucky men’s soccer seniors Steven Perinovic and Tyler Riggs have each earned National Soccer Coaches Association of America/Continental Tire All-Midwest Region honors, the organization announced on Tuesday afternoon.

Perinovic earned second-team All-Midwest Region accolades – his second consecutive season honored – while Riggs was tabbed third-team All-Midwest Region by the coaches association. UK has had 41 total all-region honorees since 1993, including at least two honorees each season since 2008.

A native of Delafield, Wis., Perinovic completed a decorated five-year career with the Wildcats in 2013, serving as co-captain after a first-team All-Conference USA season in 2012. Over his career, Perinovic played in 79 games with 73 starts, ranking fifth in games played and sixth in starts.

As a senior in 2013, he started all 20 games, with UK owning a 1.20 goals-against average while playing three freshmen on the backline. A talented force in the air at center back, Perinovic won 150-of-197 contested header attempts (76 percent) as a senior, finishing with one goal, coming off a corner kick. A two-time All-Conference USA selection, Perinovic earned second-team accolades in 2013, while also earning C-USA All-Academic Team honors as a finance/pre-medicine major with a 3.51 cumulative GPA.

A native of Louisville, Ky., Riggs finished a record-setting career in 2013, netting the second-most goals (29) in program history, ranking fifth in points (68), sixth in shots (144) and sixth in game-winning goals (seven). He became the first player in UK history to lead the team in scoring in each of his four seasons, while also earning two first-team Academic All-America honors with a 3.93 cumulative GPA as a mechanical engineering major.

Kentucky All-Region Honorees
2013: Steven Perinovic, Tyler Riggs
2012: Matt Lodge, Steven Perinovic
2011: Dylan Asher, Matt Lodge
2010: Dylan Asher, Matt Lodge
2009: Jason Griffiths, Barry Rice, Dan Williams
2008: Jason Griffiths, Barry Rice, Dan Williams
2007: Barry Rice
2006: Michael D’Agostino, Riley O’Neill
2005: Andy Guenebaum
2004: Jamal Shteiwi, Brandon Stewart
2003: Jamal Shteiwi
2002: Nathan Fleetwood, Jamal Shteiwi
2001: Ilkka Jantti, John Monebrake
2000: Ilkka Jantti
1999: Lee Baker, Giovanni Fernandes, Illka Jantti
1998: Lee Baker, Giovanni Fernandes, Ilkka Jantti
1997: Brien Baltzell, Sean Mondelli
1996: Sean Endicott, Sean Mondelli
1995: Brian Dausman, Todd Weissmueller
1994: Brian Dausman, Tim Fisk
1993: Greg Kotzbauer