Soccer Cats Earn All-Great Lakes Honors

Dec. 5, 2002

A pair of Kentucky men's soccer players were recognized Thursday when the National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced its All-Great Lakes Region soccer team. Nathan Fleetwood earned first-team honors, while Jamal Shteiwi was named to the third team.

Fleetwood, a junior midfielder, has been a first-team All-Mid-American Conference selection the past two seasons while leading the Wildcats in assists. The Adelaide, Australia, native earned All-Tournament and MAC Player of the Week honors twice this season, leading UK to a 10-9-0 record.

Shteiwi, a sophomore forward, led the Cats in scoring this season with seven goals and 15 points. The Cincinnati, Ohio, product scored the decisive goal in three matches was one of only four Wildcats to appear in all 19 games in 2002. He was named the MAC Player of the Week on Sept. 9, and also earned first-team All-MAC honors.

Kentucky is the only MAC school to have multiple players honored as regional All-Americans. All-time at Kentucky, 13 different Cats have been named regional All-Americans. Five Wildcats have earned the honor more than once, bringing the total number of regional All-Americans at UK to 20.

2002 NSCAA All-Great Lakes Team

First-TeamGK Tyler Robinson     Michigan StateD  John Swann         IndianaD  Chad Dombrowski    UW-MilwaukeeD  Steve Lawrence     MarquetteM  Ned Grabavoy       IndianaM  Ryan Mack          IndianaM  Nathan Fleetwood   KentuckyF  Pat Noonan         IndianaF  Anton Jallow       UW-MilwaukeeF  Eric Braun         Notre DameF  Chris Rolfe        Dayton

Second-TeamGK Chris Dadalan UW-MilwaukeeD Tiest Sondaal XavierD Adrian Caan LouisvilleD Jake Treager Ohio StateM Knox Cameron MichiganM Mike Mariscalco ButlerM Nick Van Sicklen WisconsinF Andy Rosenband Ohio StateF Nick Pantazi ButlerF Byron Carmichael MarshallF Kirk Harwat Akron

Third-TeamGK Grant Barrie ButlerD Kevin Taylor MichiganD Steve Nottingham Detroit-MercyD Jason Perry OaklandM Tighe Dombrowski UW-MilwaukeeM Tim Brown CincinnatiM Justin Detter Notre DameF Ablaye Camara Detroit-MercyF Mychal Turpin MichiganF Stephan Ademolu Cleveland StateF Jamal Shteiwi Kentucky