Barry Rice Named C-USA Defensive Player of the Year For Second Year

Nov. 11, 2008

DALLAS -- For the second consecutive year, Kentucky junior defender Barry Rice has been selected as the Conference USA Defensive Player of the Year and Marco dos Santos has been tabbed the C-USA Newcomer of the Year, the league office announced on Tuesday.

Junior midfielder Jason Griffiths earned first-team All-Conference USA honors, senior midfielder Masumi Turnbull and junior goalkeeper Dan Williams totaled third-team accolades, while freshman defender Brad Walker was named to the All-Conference USA Freshman Team.

Rice, arguably the top defender in college soccer, earned the C-USA Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, claiming the award in 2007. A native of Parma, Ohio, Rice has been the physical and emotional leader for the Wildcats in 2008, anchoring a back-line that has posted a 0.78 goals-against average. A year after carrying the offensive load with a team-best seven goals for UK, Rice has added a goal and an assist, while starting all 18 games and playing all but 23 minutes on the year. A player who is nearly unstoppable in the air, Rice has won 161-of-180 contested header attempts in all 18 games, an 89-percent clip.

Dos Santos, a junior and native of Sao Paulo, Brazil, emerged as one of UK’s top offensive threats in 2008, totaling 12 points, second-best on the team. Dos Santos has netted four goals and added four assists, with two of his goals coming in critical matches for the Wildcats, a win over No. 8 Michigan and a draw at No. 14 Indiana. Dos Santos has helped pace the No. 23 Wildcats, firing 24 shots – including eight on target.

Griffiths, a junior co-captain along with Rice and Williams, ranks third on the team with nine points, while roaming the defensive midfield for UK in 17 of UK’s 18 games. Griffiths, a native of Bracknell, England, has totaled four goals – all on penalties and one assist. In his career, Griffiths has netted 6-of-6 penalty kick opportunities.

Turnbull, a three-time All-Conference USA selection in the midfield, has started 12 games and played in 16 while recovering from minor injuries early in the season. A native of Richmond, British Columbia, Turnbull has totaled one goal – a golden-goal in the second overtime against FIU – and two assists. In his career, Turnbull has totaled 16 assists, good for third-place all-time in the UK record books.

Williams, who ranks 33rd in the NCAA with a 0.79 goals-against average, has solidified himself as one of the top keepers in college soccer, saving 53 shots while starting all 18 games, logging 1705 minutes. Williams, a native of Fairfax Station, Va., has allowed only 15 goals on the year, with two coming on own goals and two coming on penalty kicks. With six shutouts in 2008, Williams now has 13 in his career, good for fourth-best all-time in UK history.

Notable player absent from the All-Conference team include UK forward’s Tim Crone and Chad Hagerty. Crone ranks fourth in the league in points scored in C-USA games (7), while totaling five goals and two assists on the year – with three game-winning goals. Hagerty, a junior and native of Louisville, Ky., leads the conference in assists in league matches only, totaling four assists in C-USA games. Hagerty has carried the Wildcats on his back during a school-record equaling seven match unbeaten streak, totaling all of his scoring during the streak, five assists and one goal. Senior forward Michael Strong, a native of San Antonio, Texas, leads the Wildcats with seven goals and one assist, despite playing in just 15 games with eight starts due to injury. Sophomore forward C.J. Tappel has added two goals and two assists on the year, both game-tying goals in conference play.

No. 23 Kentucky opens C-USA Tournament play on Wednesday, facing Marshall in the first round at 1 p.m. ET in Dallas.


Player of the Year
Ashley McInnes, F, Tulsa
Defensive Player of the Year
Barry Rice, D, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year
Austin Neil, F, Tulsa
Newcomer of the Year
Marco dos Santos, F, Kentucky

Coach of the Year
Tom McIntosh, Tulsa

All-Conference First Team
F: Juan Guerra, FIU
F:  Sam Arthur, South Carolina
F: Blake Brettschneider, South Carolina
MF: Jason Griffiths, Kentucky
MF: Joe Salem, Tulsa
MF: Two-Boys Gumede, UAB
MF: Kevan George, UCF
D: Barry Rice, Kentucky
D: Michael Coburn, Memphis
D: Chris Taylor, Tulsa
GK: Tyrel Lacey, Tulsa
All-Conference Second Team
F: Paulo da Silva, SMU
F: Ashley McInnes, Tulsa
F: Austin Neil, Tulsa
MF: Ariel Osorio, SMU
MF: Jeff Harwell, SMU
MF: Leone Cruz, SMU
MF: Jeff Scanella, South Carolina
D: Tyler Ruthven, South Carolina
D: Chris Clements, Tulsa
D: Ryan Roushandel, UCF
GK: Jimmy Maurer, South Carolina

All-Conference Third Team
F: Sterling Flunder, Marshall
F: Parker Duncan, Memphis
F: Jose Parada, Tulsa
MF: Masumi Turnbull, Kentucky
MF: Jira Cooley, Marshall
MF: Trey Gergory, UAB
MF: Michal Mrevec, UAB
D: Philip Fisher, FIU
D: Mark Wiltse, South Carolina
D: Dean Sorrell, UAB
GK: Dan Williams, Ketucky
All-Freshman Team
Marc Lyon, D, FIU
Brad Walker, D, Kentucky
Jordan Hilgefort, D, Marshall
Parker Duncan, F, Memphis
Diego De Almeida, MF, SMU
Arthur Ivo, F, SMU
David MacVane, MF, South Carolina
Steven Morrissey, MF, South Carolina
Austin Neil, F, Tulsa
Justin Chavez, D, Tulsa
Andrew Barsalona, MF, UAB
Kevan George, MF, UCF