Seventeen UK Soccer Players Named to C-USA Honor Roll

April 10, 2015

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Three Kentucky men's soccer Wildcats earned the Conference USA Commissioner's Academic Medal and a total of 17 members of the 2014 squad were named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll, the league office announced on Friday.

Braedon Luna, Sam Miller and Paul Sime earned the Commissioner's Medal in addition to being named to the honor roll by meeting the prerequisite requirement of a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or better.

Student-athletes named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better.

Of UK's 17 commissioner's honor roll members, 14 are returners to the 2015 team.

The Wildcats had a banner 2014 season on the pitch and in the classroom.

In 2014 UK won 10 games - having lost just one game in conference play all year - and boasted three top-25 wins, including one at top-ranked and defending National Champion Notre Dame.

The Wildcats are expected to be led once again in 2015 by goalie Callum Irving, who was also named to the C-USA Honor Roll.

Last season he became the third Wildcat in school history to be named a Scholar All-American by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, and was named to the C-USA All-Academic team. He also became the fourth Wildcat in program history to be named an NSCAA All-American.

A total of 2,598 student-athletes earned recognition to the Commissioner's Honor Roll during the 2014-15 academic year, Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced.

Kentucky will play competitively for the third time this spring, this weekend in Nashville at the Lipscomb Tournament. The Wildcats previously drew a USL side and defeated Cincinnati last Saturday.

C-USA Commissioner's Medal
Braeden Luna
Sam Miller
Paul Sime

C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll
Kevin Barajas
Alex Bumpus
Ryan Creel
Dimitri DeChurch-Silva
Stuart Ford
Kaelon Fox
Noah Hutchins
Callum Irving
Justin Laird
Braeden Luna
Andrew McKelvey
Sam Miller
Jason Pitts
Charlie Reymann
Paul Sime
Stefan Stojkovic
Jordan Wilson