Powers, Stow named to PING Midwest All-Region Team

May 28, 2013

Lexington, Ky. – Juniors Stephen Powers and Ben Stow of the University of Kentucky men’s golf team were named to the Division I PING Midwest All-Region team, it was announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America on Tuesday.

A total of 155 players across six regions – Northeast, East, Southeast, Midwest, Central and West – earned all-region honors for 2013.

Powers finished 2013 with the second-lowest stroke average on the team at 74.33. The Naperville, Ill., native competed in all 12 tournaments for the Wildcats on the year, recording team-highs with four top-10 and five top-20 finishes. The junior’s best finish came at the Hootie at Bulls Bay Intercollegiate, where he placed tied for fifth at 2-over-par. Powers led UK in six of its 12 tournaments in 2012-13, while posting a season-low round of 6-under-par, 66 in the second round of the Saint Mary’s Invitational.

Stow, who wasn’t eligible for competition until the spring season, competed in all eight spring tournaments, concluding the year with the best stroke average on the squad at 73.92. The Salisbury, England native had one top-10 finish and placed in the top-20 four times. Stow’s best tournament came at the Schenkel Invitational, where he was tied for ninth at 1-under-par. He shot a season-low round of 4-under par, 68 at the Gary Koch Invitational, while finishing either first or second on the UK team in six of his eight events.

The duo helped lead a Kentucky team to its first NCAA Regional since 2009, and the seventh under head coach Brian Craig. The Wildcats placed 10th at the 2013 Fayetteville Regional, where Powers and Stow finished tied for 21st and tied for 42nd, respectively.

For all Kentucky men’s golf news, follow the Wildcats on Twitter at “UKmensgolf” and go to UKathletics.com.

PING All-Midwest Region Team
Andrew Bailey, Cleveland State
Charlie Bull, Akron
Brian Campbell, Illinois
Corey Conners, Kent State
Charlie Danielson, Illinois
Thomas Detry, Illinois
Steven Ihm, Iowa
Nathan Kerns, Marshall
Nicholas Losole, Northwestern
Tyler Merkel, Ball State
Matthew Moseley, Michigan State
Patrick Newcomb, Murray State
Brant Peaper, Indiana
Taylor Pendrith, Kent State
Jack Perry, Northwestern
Thomas Pieters, Illinois
Stephen Powers, Kentucky
Adam Schenk, Purdue
Robin Sciot-Siegriest, Louisville
Chris Selfridge, Toledo
Ben Stow, Kentucky
Boo Timko, Ohio State
Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
Korey Ward, Toledo
Joseph Winslow, Iowa