Men's Golf: Parker Named to SEC All-Freshman Team

April 27, 2010

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- University of Kentucky men's golf freshman Chase Parker was selected to the Southeastern Conference All-Freshman team, the league office announced Tuesday.

Parker's selection marks the first time in program history that a Wildcat has claimed the honor. However, this only marks the third time the SEC has recognized the All-Freshman team, which began in the 2007-08 season.

"This is a nice honor for Chase after a solid freshman season," head coach Brian Craig said. "In my opinion, he is just starting to scratch the surface of what he is capable of doing on the course. I look forward to three more great years with Chase leading the Wildcats."

Parker, a native of Augusta, Ga., had one of the best freshman seasons in school history, playing in 10 events with a team low season-stroke average of 74.41. Parker, who finished tied for 14th at the Hummingbird Intercollegiate for his best finish of the year, played in the last seven events for Kentucky, including the SEC Championships.

At the SEC Championships, Parker posted arguably the best performance of the year. The freshman scored his best round of the season with a 2-under-par 68 in the second round and ended the tournament with a 54-hole season-low score of 216. Parker finished the championships tied for 22nd, the second best UK finish. 

"To be awarded something from what I consider the best conference in America is very rewarding," Parker said. "I don't feel that I have played my best golf yet, and hopefully as a team we can all get better and have a great team next season."

Chris Haack, Georgia
Russell Henley, Georgia
Bank Vongvanij, Florida
Bryden MacPherson, Georgia
First-Team All-SEC
Russell Henley, Georgia
Jonathan Randolph, Ole Miss
Harris English, Georgia
Tyson Alexander, Florida
David Lingmerth, Arkansas
George Bryan IV, South Carolina
Andrew Loupe, LSU 
*Bud Cauley, Alabama
*Hunter Hamrick, Alabama
Second Team All-SEC
Wesley Bryan, South Carolina
Paul Woodbury, South Carolina
David Holmes, Tennessee
Kyle Kopsick, Auburn
Tim McKenney, Florida
Hudson Johnson, Vanderbilt
Robin Wingardh, Tennessee
Bryden MacPherson, Georgia
All-Freshman Team
Chase Parker, Kentucky
Bryden MacPherson, Georgia
Austin Cook, Arkansas
Phillip Choi, Florida
Pete Kellerman, Ole Miss
Jay Vandeventer, Tennessee
*David Zickler, Auburn
*Lee Knox, Alabama
*Tom Brown, Ole Miss