Hines a Finalist for Wuerffel Trophy

Nov. 8, 2011

LEXINGTON, Ky. -  Kentucky offensive guard Stuart Hines has been named a finalist for the Danny Wuerffel Trophy, presented by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, Fla., to the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

The award is named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries in New Orleans and around the country.

"The All Sports Association is proud not only of this year's Wuerffel Trophy finalists, but all of the nominees,"
commented All Sports President William Thomas. "These young men set such a great example for others."

Hines, a senior from Bowling Green, Ky., is in his third year as a starting offensive guard for the Wildcats.  In the classroom, Hines already has graduated with a degree in finance (3.53 career grade-point average).  His service activities are highlighted by the trip to Ethiopia undertaken by Hines, teammate Danny Trevathan, Coach Joker Phillips and Athletics Director Mitch Barnhart in May.  In addition, he has participated in events at The Lexington School, Ashland Elementary, Leestown Elementary and the Catholic Action Center.  He participated in Read Across America, the Fair Trade Festival and the Big Blue U Move In.  Currently nominated for the UK Athletics Society of Character, Hines is known for his consistency of character and dedication to the team.

Along with the Wuerffel Trophy, Hines is a finalist for another national honor, the Sportsmanship Award.  Hines also is going through the voting process for the Academic All-America team.  

The finalists are (listed alphabetically by university):
-- Barrett Jones, Junior - Offensive Lineman, Alabama
-- Robert Griffin III, Junior - Quarterback, Baylor
-- Cody Wilson, Junior - Wide Receiver, Central Michigan
-- Dawson Zimmerman, Senior - Punter, Clemson
-- Dustin Hopkins, Junior - Kicker, Florida State
-- Drew Butler, Senior - Punter, Georgia
-- Stuart Hines, Senior - Offensive Line, Kentucky
-- Kirk Cousins, Senior - Quarterback, Michigan State
-- Chandler Harnish, Senior - Quarterback, Northern Illinois
-- Ben Buchanan, Junior - Punter, Ohio State
-- Gilbert "Chaz" Hine, Senior - Offensive Lineman, South Florida
-- Matt Barkley, Junior - Quarterback, Southern California
-- Emmanuel Acho, Senior - Linebacker, Texas

A committee that includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners,
will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be formally announced Dec. 6.

"Once again, I'm amazed at the quality of character and accomplishments we have in our finalists. These young
men have succeeded both on and off the field in extraordinary ways. It's definitely going to be a tough process for the
selection committee to pick winner," Wuerffel said.

Past Winners of the award are: 2005-Rudy Niswanger-LSU; 2006-Joel Penton-Ohio State; 2007 - Paul Smith-
Tulsa; 2008-Tim Tebow-Florida; 2009-Tim Hiller-Western Michigan, 2010-Sam Acho-Texas.

The 2011 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association's 43rd Annual Awards
Banquet on Friday, Feb. 17, 2012.