Hines a Finalist for Sportsmanship Award

Nov. 4, 2011

LEXINGTON, Ky. –  Kentucky offensive guard Stuart Hines has been named a finalist for the seventh-annual Sportsmanship Award, presented by the Awards and Recognition Association (ARA) to an NCAA Division I football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship.  
To qualify for the award, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor on his team; be in good academic standing; demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches; show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously; convey a high degree of humility and integrity; and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community.  
“This year’s candidates are an outstanding bunch, there is no shortage of positive role-model athletes,” according to former Brigham Young University Coach LaVell Edwards, who chairs the selection committee.
“We were the lucky ones in our seventh year of reviewing candidates for the sportsmanship award,” said ARA President Guy Barone. “This is a solid list of impressive young men who live and breathe positive sportsmanship on and off the field.  As the only national award that recognizes an athlete’s character and leadership as it translates to sportsmanship, the ARA Sportsmanship Award was created seven years ago to shed light on these important traits.”
Hines, a senior from Bowling Green, Ky., is in his third year as a starting offensive guard for the Wildcats.  On the field, he is a tough but fair competitor.  Currently nominated for the UK Athletics Society of Character, Hines is known for his consistency of character, humility, dedication to the team and community service activities.  In the classroom, Hines already has graduated with a degree in finance (3.53 career grade-point average) and currently is going through the voting process for the Academic All-America team.
The 2011 Sportsmanship Award recipient will be chosen from 10 finalists and announced later in November.
The 2011 finalists, in alphabetical order are:
•         Ben Boothby, University of Northern Iowa
•         Drew Butler, University of Georgia
•         Austin Davis, University of Southern Mississippi
•         Gilbert “Chaz” Hine, University of Southern Florida
•         Stuart Hines, University of Kentucky
•         Barrett Jones, University of Alabama
•         Jared Karstetter, Washington State University
•         Cory Leman, Eastern Illinois University
•         Adam Replogle, Indiana University
•         David Ruffer, University of Notre Dame