Tydlacka Named 2011 Ray Guy Award Candidate

Nov. 2, 2011

LEXINGTON, Ky. – University of Kentucky senior punter Ryan Tydlacka has been named one of 54 candidates for the 2011 Ray Guy Award, which annually recognizes the best collegiate punter in the nation, the Augusta (Ga.) Sports Council recently announced.

Tydlacka is having a great season for the Wildcats, sitting third in the Southeastern Conference and 19th in the nation in punting average with a mark of 44.2. The native of Louisville, Ky., has pinned UK’s opponents inside their own 20-yard line 11 times with only two touchbacks. Tydlacka’s season-long punt came against No. 1 LSU when he switched field position with a 64-yard boot.  His distance and accurate placement have helped UK rank second in the SEC in net punting at 40.3 net yards per punt.

Tydlacka, who was named Mid-Season All-America honorable mention and Mid-Season All-SEC third team by Phil Steele’s College Football, has been game captain for UK twice this season and has received honorable mention punter of the week honors the past two weeks by the College Football Performance Awards.
The list of candidates will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists to be announced on Nov. 11. Following the semifinalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top-three finalists, who will be identified on Nov. 21. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner.
The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 8 at 9:00 pm ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corson, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard, will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Fans can visit the show’s web site at www.espncollegefootballawards.com to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.