Locke Still Not Healthy, Will Not Travel To Mississippi State

Oct. 28, 2010

LEXINGTON, Ky. – University of Kentucky senior tailback Derrick Locke will not travel with the Kentucky football team to Starkville, Miss., for Kentucky’s battle with No. 23 Mississippi State on Saturday, head coach Joker Phillips announced Thursday.

Locke, a native of Hugo, Okla., leads the Wildcats in rushing this season with 574 yards on 108 carries and seven touchdowns, while also being fourth on the team in receiving with 24 receptions for 225 yards. Locke suffered a shoulder injury against Auburn on Oct. 9.

“We will start Raymond Sanders and play Donald Russell and possibly Coshik Williams,” Phillips said about the tailback position.

Russell, a sophomore, as started the last two games in place of Locke, picking up 25 carries for 54 yards with seven catches and 70 yards receiving in the two games. Sanders, a true freshman, had 16 carries for 79 yards and seven receptions for 77 yards last Saturday vs. Georgia.

Along with Locke being out, Phillips also said that sophomore wide receiver La’Rod King, who suffered a sprained knee against Georgia last weekend, was also held out of practice Thursday, but will make the trip to Mississippi State.

“We held La’Rod out today,” Phillips said, “because we thought that we got enough out of him yesterday. He can make the trip. We just need to give him a couple of days to recover from yesterday’s practice.”

Hartline, Guy Named Game Captains for Mississippi State: Senior quarterback Mike Hartline and junior safety Winston Guy have been named game captains for the Mississippi State game, first-year head coach Joker Phillips has announced.

Game captains are usually chosen on the basis of performance in the previous game. Hartline had a good game against Georgia, throwing for a career-high 353 yards and tying a career high in touchdown passes with four. Guy played well on the defensive side, gaining eight tackles. Guy has an interception in two of Kentucky’s last three games.

Hartline and Guy will join permanent captains Randall Cobb and DeQuin Evans at the pregame coin toss.