Clemons Nominated for Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

Oct. 9, 2014

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Kentucky junior running back Josh Clemons has been tabbed the fourth weekly nominee for the 2014 Orange Bowl-Football Writers Association of America Courage Award, it was announced by the FWAA.

Clemons, a native of Fayetteville, Ga., is the fourth weekly nominee for the 2014 Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award, which honors student-athletes displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship.

Clemons made an emotional return to the field in 2014 after battling through major injuries to his knee and Achilles. A 5-foot-10, 223-pounder, Clemons was off to a strong start to his freshman season in 2011, leading the club in rushing before suffering a season-ending knee injury. After redshirting the entire 2012 season while rehabilitating the knee injury, Clemons was prepared for a return to the field in 2013. However, during 2013 fall camp, Clemons suffered a season-ending injury to his Achilles tendon.

In Kentucky's 2014 season-opening win over UT Martin, Clemons made his return to the field for the first time in over 1,000 days. He carried it two times for five yards, before rushing five times for 27 yards in UK's win over Ohio the following week. In his career, Clemons has rushed 72 times for 311 yards and two touchdowns.   

Kentucky (4-1, 2-1 Southeastern Conference) will return to action on Saturday, hosting Louisiana-Monroe at Noon ET at Commonwealth Stadium. The game will be televised live on the SEC Network and will be broadcast live on the UK Radio Network.

The Courage Award was first presented by the FWAA in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous winners of the FWAA's Courage Award are San José State defensive lineman Anthony Larceval (2013), Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriguez (2012), Michigan State offensive lineman Arthur Ray Jr. (2011), Rutgers defensive tackle Eric LeGrand (2010), the University of Connecticut football team (2009), Tulsa's Wilson Holloway (2008), Navy's Zerbin Singleton (2007), Clemson's Ray Ray McElrathbey (2006), the Tulane football team (2005), Memphis' Haracio Colen (2004), San José State's Neil Parry (2003) and Toledo's William Bratton (2002).

2014 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees
• Sept. 17: Deon Hill, Georgia Tech
• Sept. 24: Ian Frye, Virginia
• Oct. 1: Zach Golditch, Colorado State
• Oct. 8: Josh Clemons, Kentucky