Phillips Inaugurates Captains Breakfast

April 24, 2010

Photo Gallery Photo gallery icon

LEXINGTON, Ky. – First-year head coach Joker Phillips inaugurated a Kentucky Football Captains Breakfast on Saturday morning, an event he plans to make an annual tradition.

The Captains Breakfast was part of UK Football Alumni Weekend.  On Friday, the former players enjoyed a round of golf, an outing at Keeneland and a cookout.  The alumni festivities were completed on Saturday with the Blue/White Spring Game.

Captains in attendance included Tommy Adkins (1953), Glenn Shawn (1959), Cullen Wilson (1959), Sam Ball (1965), Doug Van Meter (1967), Wilbur Hackett (1969), Dan Neal (1971-72), Joe Federspiel (1971), Lester Boyd (1979), Jim Campbell (1981), Greg Long (1981), John Maddox (1982), Oliver White (1984), Ken Pietrowiak (1985), Bill Ransdell (1986), Bo Smith (1988), Chris Chenault (1988), Andy Murray (1989), Oliver Barnett (1989), Freddie Maggard (1990), Greg Lahr (1991), Pookie Jones (1992-93), Dean Wells (1992), Robert Stinson (1994), George Massey (1999), Grayson Smith (2000), Shane Boyd (2004), Tommy Cook (2005), Andre’ Woodson (2007), Wesley Woodyard (2007), Braxton Kelley (2008) and Tony Dixon (2008).

In addition, approximately 20 members of the 2010 UK football team were present.  The current Wildcats were players who are establishing themselves as leaders.

The Captains Breakfast began with greetings from Chuck Arnold, outgoing president of the K-Association lettermen’s club, and Jack Brown, incoming president of the K-Association.

Several of the former captains shared words of wisdom and inspiration to the current Cats, with short talks delivered by Federspiel, Wilson, Pietrowiak, Woodyard, Hackett and Ball.

Senior defensive end DeQuin Evans and junior wide receiver Randall Cobb spoke on behalf of the current players.