Jones Named Finalist for Oscar Robertson Award

LEXINGTON, Ky. – UK freshman Terrence Jones was named among 10 finalists for the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Award as announced by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA).

Jones is currently leading the team in rebounding (9.1), blocked shots (55) and double-doubles (10). His 17.3 points per game average ranks fifth in the SEC. He leads the league in rebounding and ranks sixth in the league in blocked shots at 2.0.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 900 journalists.

The presentation of this year's award will take place on Friday, April 1 at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA's Player of the Year. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

Kentucky returns to action Tuesday, celebrating Senior Night, hosting Vanderbilt. The game is scheduled for a 9:00 p.m. ET tip and can be seen live on ESPN.