Gott Named Cape Reliever of the Year

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- After posting a league-leading 13 saves in as many opportunities, Kentucky sophomore right-hander Trevor Gott has been honored as the 2011 Russell Ford Award recipient as the Cape Cod League reliever of the year, it was announced during a pregame presentation on Friday night.

Gott paced the talent-rich Cape Cod League with 13 saves – in 13 chances – posting a 1.23 ERA in 18 relief outings for Orleans. The Lexington, Ky., native tossed 22 innings during the summer, fanning 28, allowing only four walks and 14 hits. The 2010 Kentucky High School Gatorade Player of the Year out of Tates Creek, Gott earned the save in the CCBL All-Star Game on July 29, played at the Boston Red Sox’s Fenway Park, with UK teammate Taylor Rogers notching the win as the starting pitcher.

“We are extremely proud of Trevor and his terrific summer,” UK head coach Gary Henderson said. “He has really continued the development he showed during his first year in Lexington and has emerged as one of the top relievers in the nation. To be chosen as the top relief pitcher among such a talented group of college players speaks to what an outstanding summer Trevor has had in the Cape.”

As a true freshman for the Wildcats in 2010, Gott emerged as a potential standout reliever, tossing his first 11 career outings without allowing an earned run, posting a perfect 0.00 ERA in 17.1 innings, with 20 strikeouts. Through his first 17 career appearances, Gott posted a 2-3 record and a 0.38 ERA with one save, striking out 29 in 23.2 innings, allowing only one earned run. Overall on the year, Gott totaled a 2-4 record and a 3.62 ERA with two saves, striking out 34 in 27.1 innings. Without the lone two outings that saw Gott allow three or more runs, the righty posted a 1.38 ERA over 26 innings.

Gott is the second Kentucky player in school history to earn the Russell Ford Award for the top relief pitcher in the Cape Cod League, as Scott Smith was tabbed with the honor after tallying eight saves in 1992 for Chatham.

Each summer Ford, who was one of the major catalysts of the Cape Cod League, is honored by awarding the most outstanding relief pitcher of the season the recipient of the Russell Ford Award. Ford dedicated four decades of service to the CCBL as a former Cape Cod League president (1978-83) and anchor of the Orleans Cardinals franchise.

Russell Ford Reliever of the Year Award Winners (from 1991)

Year Player Team College W-L Saves ERA
2011 Trevor Gott Orleans Kentucky 0-0 13 1.23
2010 Tony Zych Bourne Louisville 0-0 12 0.89
2009 Tyler Burgoon Y-D Michigan 1-1 12 1.69
2008 Russell Brewer Hyannis Vanderbilt 1-0 12 2.74
2007 Nick Cassavechia Y-D Baylor 1-1 11 1.07
2006 Joshua Fields Y-D Georgia 0-1 13 2.55
2005 Steven Wright Orleans Hawaii 3-0 12 0.63
2004 Kevin Whelan Wareham Texas A&M 2-2 11 0.42
2003 Jarrett Santos Brewster NC-Greens. 2-1 11 1.42
2002 Zane Carlson Chatham Baylor 2-2 12 3.13
2001 Shaun Marcum Harwich SW Mizz. St. 4-1 10 1.48
  Ryan Speier Bourne Radford 0-0 16 0.00
2000 Taft Cable Orleans NC Greens. 0-2 12 4.68
  Dan Rich Brewster Stanford 1-0 10 0.63
1999 Derrick DePriest Chatham N. Carolina 1-0 15 0.00
1998 Tim Lavigne Bourne/Chatham Virginia 0-0 6 1.46
1997 Chris Aronson Cotuit Geo. Mason 0-1 9 3.15
1996 Drew Fischer Brewster Cal-Berkeley 1-0 13 1.40
1995 Brendan Sullivan Cotuit Stanford 2-1 7 4.22
1994 Scott Winchester Falmouth Clemson 3-1 13 2.61
1993 Don Nesteor Falmouth South Fla. 0-2 11 2.49
1992 Scott Smith Chatham Kentucky 3-0 8 0.70
1991 Brad Clontz Wareham Va. Tech 3-1 11 0.91