Cross Country: Three Wildcats Earn All-SEC Honors at the 2010 SEC Championships

Nov. 1, 2010

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- The University of Kentucky men’s and women’s cross country teams both earned eighth place finishes at the 2010 Southeastern Conference Championship in Columbia, S.C., on Monday.

Kentucky’s top female finisher, sophomore Cally Macumber, finished No. 13 overall completing the women’s 6,000-meter course in 21:24.47. Macumber earned the top spot on the team for the first time this season while earning All-SEC second team honors. SEC second team honors are awarded for placing between seventh and 14th at the championships.

“Cally did a great job considering she hasn’t been at full strength most of the season,” head coach Don Weber said. “She seems to be improving, evident by her performance today.”

Taylor Wendler and Anna Bostrom were also awarded All-SEC honors as two of the top-seven freshmen female finishers.  Wendler finished No.30 overall for the women, navigating the course in 21:51.27 with Bostrom finishing 10 spots behind in the 40th slot with at time of 22:11.08.

Returning All-SEC second team performer from last season, Chelsea Oswald, did not compete for the third straight event because of injuries. 

The men’s team was once again led by sophomore Luis Orta, making it the fifth time this season and the eighth time in his two-year career he has been the Cats’ top performer. The native of Caracus, Venezuela finished 32nd overall completing the 8,000 meter course at the Fort Jackson Training Facility in 25:25.19. Following Orta for the second meet in a row was junior Josh Nadzam who finished No. 42 with a time of 25:50.44. Fellow junior Colin Heenan ran well with Orta until the final 1,000 meters according to Weber but faded down the stretch finishing 50th in 26:15.60.

Two impressive freshmen, Stacey Eden and Adam Kahleifeh, claimed the third and fourth positions on the Wildcats squad with No. 52 and No. 62 finishes, respectively. Eden, who has consistently been in UK’s top-three finishers this season, completed the race in 26:35.65 while Kahleifeh finished in 26:35.65.

The Arkansas men's team ended its two-year SEC title drought with the program's 18th team title, and three Florida runners placed in the top eight of the women's race to lead the Gators to their second consecutive team title.

Mississippi's Barnabas Kirui won his third SEC cross country title in five years with a time of 23:52.07, becoming the fourth runner in SEC history to claim three league titles. Kirui capped his senior season with his best showing at the conference meet after also claiming titles in 2006 (23:53.24) and 2009 (24:24.75). Georgia sophomore Kristie Krueger captured the individual women's title at 20:41.25, making her the second Bulldog in four years to win the women's race. Krueger's title comes one year after placing 42nd as a freshman in her first conference meet.

The Kentucky men’s and women’s cross country teams will be back in action Nov. 13 for the 2010 NCAA Southeast Regional at E.P. Tom Sawyer Park in Louisville.

Men's Results                                            
1. Arkansas, 34 points                              
2. Alabama, 62 points                              
3. Florida, 69 points                                   
4. Tennessee, 132 points                        
5. Mississippi, 154 points                        
6. Georgia, 155 points                              
7. Mississippi State, 211 points            
8. Kentucky, 222 points                            
9. LSU, 231 points                                    
10. Auburn, 234 points                            
11. Vanderbilt, 278 points                        
12. Tennessee, 325 points

Women's Results
1. Florida, 60 points
2. Arkansas, 61 points
3. Vanderbilt, 76 points
4. Georgia, 130 points
5. Mississippi State, 156 points
6. Alabama, 177 points
7. Auburn, 190 points
8. Kentucky, 206 points
9. Mississippi, 209 points
10. South Carolina, 253 points
11. LSU, 278 points

Kentucky Men’s Results – 8th (222 points)
32. Luis Orta – 25:25.19 (31 points)
42. Josh Nadzam – 25:50.44 (40 points)
50. Colin Heenan – 26:15.60 (46 points)
52. Stacey Eden – 26:18.24 (48 Points)
62. Adam Kaheifeh – 26:35.65 (57 Points)
75. Matt Wagner – 27:11.55 (69 Points)
76. Matt Hillenbrand – 27:19.37 (70 points)
80. William James – 27:28.35

Kentucky Women’s Results – 8th (207 points)
13. Cally Macumber – 21:24.47 (13 points)
30. Taylor Wendler – 21:51.27 (30 points)
40. Anna Bostrom – 22:11.08 (40 points)
59. Allison Peare – 22:49.28 (54 points)
82. Hiruni Wijaratne – 23:24.44 (70 points)
83. Suzanne Holt – 23:26.42 (71 points)
DNR. Chelsea Oswald