Cross Country Ends Regular Season with Two Top-Five Finishes

Oct. 16, 2010


LEXINGTON, Ky. – The University of Kentucky cross country team closed out the regular season with a fourth-place finish for both the men and women’s team, including sophomore Luis Orta’s second-place finish at the Blue Ridge Open at Appalachian State University on Friday.


Orta has led the men’s team in each of its three previous meets of the season and made it a fourth with a strong finish Friday in Boone, N.C. The sophomore navigated the 8,000-meter course in 24:49.30 for his fourth consecutive top-25 finish. Josh Nadzam finished second on the team behind Orta for the first time this season with a much improved performance of 25:33.80.


Freshman Stacey Eden put together another solid outing with a time of 25:44.20 to finish in the top 25 for the second time in the four meets this year. Senior Colin Heenan followed just behind Eden in 47th with a time of 26:21.30.


The women’s team finished fourth led by three freshmen, including Taylor Wendler’s 11th-place finish with a time of 18:14.90. Wendler crossed the finish line first for the Cats for the second week in a row in place of injured Chelsea Oswald. Anna Bostrom and Allison Peare finished behind Wendler in 21st and 45th respectively with times of 18:28.70 and 19:02.10.


Sophomore Cally Macumber, who was named to the All-Southeastern Conference freshman team last year, finished 53rd with a time of 19:08.30 followed closely by the lone senior Suzanne Holt, who finished 61st with a time 19:19.90. Sophomore Hiruni Wijayaratne rounded out the Wildcat finishers in 71st with a time of 19:25.60.


The men’s and women’s team will head to Columbia, S.C., for the SEC Championships on Nov. 1.


Women’s Individual Results

11. Taylor Wendler - 18:14.90

21.   Anna Bostrom - 18:28.70

45. Allison Peare – 19:02.10

53. Cally Macumber - 19:08.30

61. Suzanne Holt – 19:19.90

71. Hiruni Wijayaratne – 19:25.60


Men’s Individual Results

2. Luis Orta – 24:49.3019.

19. Josh Nadzan – 25:33.80

25. Stacey Eden – 25:44.20

47. Colin Heenan – 26:21.30

50. Matt Wagner – 26:27.30

55. Adam Kahleifeh – 26:34.90

64. William James – 26:41.70