Orta Earns Top-10 Finish at Greater Louisville Classic

Oct. 1, 2011

Men's Results Get Acrobat Reader | Women's Results Get Acrobat Reader | Photo Gallery 

LEXINGTON, Ky. – University of Kentucky men’s cross country junior Luis Orta has been on a tear during the 2011 season, and Saturday morning at the Greater Louisville Classic was no different. Held at the E.P. ‘Tom’ Sawyer State Park, Orta finished in 10th out of 240 runners, and led the men’s team to an eighth-place finish out of 29 teams.

The Caracas, Venezuela native ran the 8,000-meter course in a time of 24:17.72 to earn his third-straight top-10 overall finish to begin the year. Orta won the season-opening Belmont-VU Opener on Sept. 2, and followed that up with a victory at the Tennessee Invitational on Sept. 17.

The women’s team, led by junior Chelsea Oswald, finished in 18th place. Oswald finished the women’s 5K course in 17:53.51 to finish in 42nd. Oswald has led the Wildcats in each of their first three races this season.

On the men’s side, Orta was followed by sophomores Stacey Eden, who finished in 41st, and Adam Kahleifeh who finished in 45th. Seniors Walter Luttrell and Josh Nadzam rounded out the team’s top five finishers, recording 55th- and 84th-place marks, respectively.

Allison Peare finished in 64th on the UK women’s squad, followed closely by senior Megan Broderick who finished in 64th with a time of 18:12.65. Broderick, who led the UK women’s tennis team for four years prior to joining the cross country squad, has finished in the top three on the team in each of Kentucky’s opening three meets.

The Wildcats will compete again Friday, Oct. 14 at the Panorama Farms Invitational in Charlottesville, Va. For more information on the Kentucky cross country teams, go to UKathletics.com.

Greater Louisville Classic
E.P. ‘Tom’ Sawyer State Park
Louisville Ky. | Oct. 1, 2011

Men’s Team Results (8K):
8. Kentucky – 233 points

Women’s Team Results (5K):
18. Kentucky – 429 points

Men’s Gold Individual Results (overall finish):
(10) Luis Orta – 24:17.72
(41) Stacey Eden – 24:53.45
(45) Adam Kahleifeh – 24:55.18
(55) Walter Luttrell – 25:00.15
(84) Josh Nadzam – 25:23.39
(107) MacKay Wilson – 25:36.52
(147) Justin House – 26:02.04
(152) Robert Scharold – 26:04.23
(181) Trent Halasek – 26:29.58
(196) Colin Heenan – 26:49.54

Women’s Gold Individual Results (overall finish):
(42) Chelsea Oswald – 17:53.51
(64) Allison Peare – 18:11.92
(66) Megan Broderick – 18:12.65
(128) Megan Wright – 18:41.63
(153) Taylor Wendler – 18:50.86
(164) Hiruni Wijayaratne – 18:57.08
(195) Katy Achtien – 19:08.45
(245) Amanda Olds – 20:15.63