Wildcats Head to Athens for SEC Championships

May 11, 2011

ATHENS, Ga. – The University of Kentucky track and field team prepares for the 2011 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships, continuing to ride the momentum of previous week’s performances that have the Wildcats peaking in time for post-season action, Thursday, May 12 through Sunday, May 15 at the Spec Towns Track in Athens, Ga.

The championships begin at 10 a.m. ET Thursday and continue at 10 a.m. ET Friday, 12 p.m. ET Saturday and 12 p.m. ET Sunday. Live results will be available at www.georgiadogs.com, while live coverage of the final two days of the event will be available through a live stream on ESPN3.com. ESPN3’s coverage will begin Saturday at 4 p.m. ET, with Sunday’s coverage starting at 2 p.m. ET.

Senior Colin Boevers is UK’s only returning champion from last year’s outdoor championships with a victory in the men’s discus throw. Boevers extended the streak of Wildcats who have won the discus title to three consecutive years, dating back to Chase Madison in 2008. The Salt Lake City, Utah native, is looking to become the first Kentucky student-athlete to win the SEC discus championship in back-to-back years since Pat McCulla, who accomplished that feat in 1981-82. Boevers currently holds the SEC’s top mark in the discus and is moving up the ranks in the shot put.

Last year’s SEC championship also produced a school-record performance by now junior Precious Nwokey in the heptathlon with 5,543, passing former UK star Ashley Trimble. Nwokey finished third in the event with her top performances coming in the 100-meter hurdles, high jump, 200m dash and 800m run all in which she claimed second place. Nwokey is coming off an SEC indoor championship in the pentathlon, an event which she also holds the school record.  

With a strong performance in last year’s competition that included a fourth-place finish in the 800m run, Sharif Webb travels to Athens, Ga., with the second-fastest time in the league at 1:47.19. Webb looks to redeem himself from the indoor season where he had a disappointing fall in the finals after being the top qualifier.

Junior Keith Hayes, a new addition to UK this year, is the Wildcats only All-America performer during the 2011 indoor season. Hayes finished seventh in the 60m hurdles after finished second at SEC indoors. The Kansas transfer holds the second-fastest time in the 60m hurdles and 110m hurdles on UK’s all-time lists. Hayes will compete in the 110m hurdles and 400m hurdles this weekend.

Many other Wildcats will be in action including All-SEC performers Cally Macumber and Mary Angell, school triple jump record holder Keenan Hall and 400m record holder Jenna Martin.  

This marks the first time since 1999 that the Bulldogs have hosted the league meet. Georgia also was the site of the 1966, 1976, 1982 and 1990 Championships. Spec Towns Track underwent a $3 million dollar complete renovation following the 2009 season, which has allowed them to bring the SEC Outdoor Championships back to Athens after an 11 year absence. The 400m track features eight 42-inch running lanes, two completely re-designed throwing circles with cages, five vaulting areas, four expanded jumps areas, along with two javelin runways, a shot put area and two high jump pits.

For continuous updates on UK track and field follow @Kentuckytrack on twitter and at UKathletics.com.

SEC Championships Schedule

Thursday, May 12

Heptathlon – 12:30 p.m.
        Precious Nwokey
        Ashley Newby
        Kayla Parker

Friday, May 13

Women’s Hammer Throw – 10:00 a.m.
        Heather Smith
Heptathlon – 1:30 p.m.
        Precious Nwokey
        Ashley Newby
        Kayla Parker
Men’s 800m Run Prelims – 5:30 p.m.
        Sharif Webb
        Matt Hillenbrand
        Robert Scharold
        Thomas Canary
        Williams James
Women’s 800m Run Prelims – 5:45 p.m.
        Allison Peare
Men’s 200m Dash Prelims – 6:15 p.m.
        Kyron Joseph
Women’s 200m Dash Prelims – 6:30 p.m.
        Jazmyn Shorter
Men’s 400m Hurdles Prelims – 6:45 p.m.
        Keith Hayes
Women’s 400m Hurdles Prelims – 7:00 p.m.
        Shiara Robinson

Saturday, May 14

Men’s Long Jump – 12:00 p.m.
        Keenan Hall
Women’s High Jump – 12:00 p.m.
        Terri-Ann Grant
Men’s Shot Put – 1:30 p.m.
        Colin Boevers
        Isiah Kent
Women’s Pole Vault – 2:30 p.m.
        Samantha Stenzel
        Shelby Kennard
Women’s Discus Throw – 3:30 p.m.
        Mary Angell
Men’s 1,500m Run Prelims – 4:00 p.m.
        Matt Hillenbrand
        Robert Scharold
        Adam Kahleifeh
Women’s 1,500m Run Prelims – 4:15 p.m.
        Cally Macumber
        Taylor Wendler
        Megan Wright
        Anna Bostrom
Men’s 110m Hurdles Prelims – 4:30 p.m.
        Keith Hayes
        Darryl Bradshaw
Women’s 100m Hurdles Prelims – 4:45 p.m.
        Precious Nwokey
        Kayla Parker
Men’s 400m Dash Prelims – 5:00 p.m.
        Ben Mason
        Cody Miller
Women’s 400m Dash Prelims – 5:15 p.m.
        Jenna Martin
        Brittany Cabbler
        Julie Nunn
Men’s 100m Dash Prelims – 5:30 p.m.
        Kyron Joseph
Men’s 3,000m Steeplechase – 6:05 p.m.
        Luis Orta

Sunday, May 15

Men’s Triple Jump – 12:00 p.m.
        Keenan Hall
        David Banks
        Steve Crouse
Women’s Shot Put – 2:00 p.m.
        Mary Angell
Women’s 4x100m Relay – 2:10 p.m.
        Jenna Martin, Jazmyn Shorter, Shiara Robinson, Kayla Parker
Women’s Triple Jump – 2:15 p.m.
        Ke’Undra Bishop
Men’s Discus Throw – 3:00 p.m.
        Colin Boevers
        Isiah Kent
Men’s 5,000m Run – 4:30 p.m.
        Luis Orta
        Stacey Eden
        Matt Hillenbrand
Women’s 5,000m Run – 4:50 p.m.
        Cally Macumber
        Hiruni Wijayaratne
Men’s 4x400m Relay – 5:15 p.m.
        Keith Hayes, Sharif Webb, Cody Miller, Kyron Joseph
Women’s 4x400m Relay – 5:35 p.m.
        Jenna Martin, Brittany Cabbler, Shiara Robinson, Jazmyn Shorter