Orta Preps for Mt. SAC Relays, UK Travels to Polytan Invitational

April 18, 2012

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Junior long distance runner Luis Orta will head westward to Walnut, Calif., for the Mt. SAC Relays on Thursday, and the rest of the Kentucky men’s and women’s track and field teams will go to Bloomington, Ind., for the Polytan Invitational on Saturday and Sunday.

Hosted by Mt. San Antonio College, Orta will compete in the 3,000-Meter steeplechase at the 54th annual Mt. SAC Relays. The 2012 Southeastern Conference Men’s Indoor Runner of the Year, Orta has enjoyed a strong outdoor season, winning the 3,000m steeplechase at the Texas Relays and finished fifth in the 5,000m run at the Florida Relays. Thursday’s race will be Orta’s first steeplechase since the Texas Relays in late March.

The remainder of the Wildcats will compete in the two-day Polytan Invitational. Sophomore Andrew Evans and freshman Bradley Szypka will get things started for Kentucky on Saturday at 4:30 p.m. ET with the men’s hammer. Evans currently has the seventh bet mark in Kentucky history in the hammer, recording a 156-04 in Kentucky’s first outdoor meet this season, the Bulls Invitational.

Freshmen Todd Nibbs and Ryan Ratliff will compete in the men’s high jump, while junior Shelby Kennard and senior Samantha Stenzel will go in the women’s pole vault. Wrapping up the field events for Kentucky on Saturday will be freshman Terence Boyd, who will compete in the men’s triple jump.

Julie Nunn, Kayla Parker, Keilah Tyson and Tamyah Pipkin will represent the Cats in the 4x100m relay. The quartet will try to top what Nunn, Parker, Shiara Robinson and Tyson accomplished last week, recording the fourth fastest 4x100m time in school history (45.28).

Freshman Devinn Cartwright will compete in the women’s 400m hurdles at 7:20 p.m. Saturday, and sophomore Brandon Bagley will follow at 7:35 p.m. in the men’s 400m hurdles.

Katy Achtien, Anna Bostrom, Megan Broderick and Allison Peare will race in the women’s 1,500m run at 8:30 p.m. In the men’s 1,500m run, Stacey Eden, Matt Hillenbrand, Adam Kahleifeh, Walter Luttrell and Jared Phillips will represent the Cats. At last week’s Texas Roadhouse Border Battle Kentuckiana, Hillenbrand recorded the fourth-fastest 1,500m in the SEC so far this season, crossing the finish line in 3:48.22.

UK will close out the first day of competition at the Polytan Invitational with the women’s 5,000m run, in which junior Hiruni Wijayaratne will compete for the Wildcats.

A complete schedule of when and where Kentucky’s student-athletes will compete, including day two the Polytan Invitational, is listed below.

Live results for the Mt. SAC Relays can be found at mtsacrelays.com/results12.htm, and results for the Polytan Invitational can be found at IUhoosiers.com.

For all Kentucky track and field news, including daily recaps and results from the Mt. SAC Relays and Polytan Invitational, follow the Wildcats on Twitter at “KentuckyTrack” and go to UKathletics.com.

Mt. SAC Relays
Hilmer Lodge Stadium
Walnut, Calif.

Thursday Lineup
3,000-Meter Steeplechase – 9:00 p.m.
Luis Orta
Polytan Invitational
Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex
Bloomington, Ind.

Day One Lineup
Men’s Hammer – 4:30 p.m.
Andrew Evans
Bradley Szypka

Men’s High Jump – 5:00 p.m.
Todd Nibbs
Ryan Ratliff

Women’s Pole Vault – 5:00 p.m.
Shelby Kennard
Samantha Stenzel

Men’s Triple Jump – 6:30 p.m.
Terence Boyd

Women’s 4x100-Meter Relay – 7:00 p.m.
Kentucky ‘A’ (Julie Nunn, Kayla Parker , Keilah Tyson and Tamyah Pipkin)

Women’s 400-Meter Hurdles – 7:20 p.m.
Devinn Cartwright

Men’s 400-Meter Hurdles – 7:35 p.m.
Brandon Bagley

Women’s 1,500-Meter Run – 8:30 p.m.
Katy Achtien
Anna Bostrom
Megan Broderick
Allison Peare

Men’s 1,500-Meter Run – 8:45 p.m.
Stacey Eden
Matt Hillenbrand
Adam Kahleifeh
Walter Luttrell
Jared Phillips

Women’s 5,000-Meter Run – 9:00 p.m.
Hiruni Wijayaratne

Day Two Lineup
Women’s Shot Put – Noon
Jennifer Svoboda

Men’s Discus – Noon
Andrew Evans
Isiah Kent

Women’s Long Jump – 1:00 p.m.
Brittany Britt

Men’s Long Jump – 1:00 p.m.
Terence Boyd
Todd Nibbs

Women’s High Jump – 1:00 p.m.
Terri-Ann Grant
Joanne Imbert

Men’s 110-Meter Hurdles – 1:15 p.m.
Brandon Bagley

Women’s 100-Meter Dash – 1:30 p.m.
Brittany Britt

Men’s 100-Meter Dash – 1:40 p.m.
Ben Mason

Men’s 400-Meter Dash – 2:05 p.m.
Ben Mason

Women’s 800-Meter Run – 2:15 p.m.
Megan Wright

Men’s 800-Meter Run – 2:30 p.m.
Trent Halasek
Sean Keane
Josh Nadzam
Keffri Neal
Robert Scharold

Men’s Shot Put – 2:30 p.m.
Isiah Kent
Bradley Szypka

Men’s 200-Meter Dash – 3:00 p.m.
Brandon Bagley
Ben Mason