Kendra Harrison on April Bowerman Watch List

April 16, 2015

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Kendra Harrison remained listed as one to watch on the latest addition of the Bowerman Trophy Watch List, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced on Thursday.

The Bowerman Trophy is awarded annually to the most outstanding individual athlete in collegiate track and field.

Harrison is off to a smoldering start to the outdoor season after she went undefeated during the indoor season, winning the NCAA and Southeastern Conference 60-meter hurdles Championships.

She has remained undefeated in outdoor competition this season, with some head-turning times to boot. Harrison ran a collegiate-leading 54.94 to win the Florida Relays 400-meter hurdles by nearly a second over the second ranked 400m hurdler in the NCAA. In terms of 400m hurdles time recorded during March, Harrison's time was the fastest time ever recorded by a collegian, the third fastest by an American, and tied for the 24th-fastest time in the history of track and field (per

She won the 100-meter hurdles and the open 200 at the Oregon Pepsi Invitational with times of 12.94w (+2.4m/s) and 23.69, respectively.

She is the reigning SEC Gold Medalist in the SEC 100m hurdles and 400m hurdles Champion as well as the NCAA 400m Hurdles Silver Medalist.

The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA and considered the most prestigious individual award in collegiate track and field.

Past winners include Olympic gold medalist, World Champion and decathlon world-record holder Ashton Eaton (2010), 10,000-meter Olympic silver medalist Galen Rupp (2009), 2011 IAAF World Champion at 1500 meters Jenny Simpson (2009), 2013 100-meter hurdles World Champion Brianna Rollins (2013) and 2012 Olympic high jump bronze medalist Derek Drouin (2013).

In total, the winners from the award's first four years have won three Olympic Medals, two World Championships and six World Championships medals. When considering finalists for the award, 13 individuals have earned a combined seven Olympic medals, four World Championships and 17 World Championships medals.

Former Oregon head coach and Nike co-founder Bill Bowerman, who the award is named for, served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA's predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.