Two UK Track Athletes Named Finalists for McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year

April 9, 2003

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - University of Kentucky track & field seniors Simidele Adeagbo and Thomas Morgan have been chosen by their school as recipients of a Southeastern Conference post-graduate scholarship and are finalists for the 2003 H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, SEC Commissioner Mike Slive announced.

Each league institution nominates one male and one female student-athlete for the prestigious award. The 24 finalists receive the $5,000 scholarship for post-graduate studies. The McWhorter Selection Committee will name the male and female winners in May, with each receiving an additional $10,000 award, provided by Alltel.

Adeagbo is a senior on the UK team, specializing in the triple and long jumps. The journalism major hails from Louisville, Ky., and earned her third All-America honor in the triple jump at last month's NCAA Indoor Championships. Just last week, Adeagbo broke her own school record in the event with a jump of 44-00.50.

Morgan is a two-time All-America athlete specializing in distance running and relays. He wons school records in the 4 x 800-meter relay, 4 x mile-relay and the distance medley relay. Last month, he earned his second All-America honor as part of UK's distance medley team. He's already claimed one outdoor title this season with a first-place showing in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the Spec Towns Invitational last month.

The awards were first presented in 1986 and were renamed to honor the former conference commissioner, H. Boyd McWhorter (1972-86), in May 1990. This year's winners will be announced at the SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.