Macumber and Hillenbrand Named All-SEC

By Jacob Most

March 1, 2013 -

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Cally Macumber and Matt Hillenbrand were named First-Team All-Southeastern Conference selections for indoor track and field, the league office announced on Friday.

Rebecca Famurewa was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team after earning a point with an eighth-place finish in the weight throw.

Macumber won the SEC 3,000 meters title at the conference championships last weekend, and she owns the event time that leads the conference.

Her top 3K performance of 8:59.98 ranks No. 3 in the nation, as she is one of just three collegiate competitors to break nine minutes at that distance in 2013.

Macumber has won four of the five individual races she competed in during the 2013 indoor season, having taken fourth in the mile at SEC Championships to score five additional points. 

The Rochester Hills, Mich., native led all UK competitors with 15 points scored at the SEC Championships in this her final season of indoor eligibility. 

She was also a First-Team All-SEC selection in cross country last fall after winning the conference championship. Macumber has cross country and outdoor track and field eligibility remaining.

Hillenbrand was the men’s team top points getter at the SEC meet as he earned 10 points for winning the mile and also was part of a distance medley relay team, which finished fourth.

Hillenbrand won the conference mile championship in dramatic fashion executing a near-perfect tactical race plan to take his first lead on the final straight-away of the mile.

The SEC title was his second race win of this season, as he also claimed the 3,000-meter title at the Rod McCravy Memorial Meet.

Hillenbrand’s SEC mile time of 4:01.55 was a new personal-best, and the seventh-fastest in school history. The junior became the first Kentucky athlete to win the men’s mile since David Freeman took home the title in 2004.

Famurewa scored a point in her first SEC meet as she reached a new PR 18.75 meters/61’21” in the women’s weight throw.

Multiple Kentucky athletes, including Macumber and Hillenbrand, are competing this weekend at “last chance meets” in search of the national top-16 times necessary to reach the NCAA Championships March 8-9 in Fayetteville, Ark.

Follow "KentuckyTrack" on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

2013 SEC Indoor Track and Field Awards
Men’s Coach of the Year: Chris Bucknam, Arkansas
Women’s Coach of the Year: Lance Harter, Arkansas
Men’s Runner of the Year: Deon Lendore, Texas A&M|
Men’s Field Athlete of the Year: Marquis Dendy, Florida
Men’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Markesh Woodson, Missouri|
Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
Women’s Runner of the Year: Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Women’s Field Athlete of the Year: Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Shaunae Miller, Georgia
Women’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: LaQue Moen-Davis

Men’s First-Team All-SEC
Ricky Babineaux, Texas A&M
Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Texas A&M
Tarik Batchelor, Arkansas
Marquis Dendy, Florida
Cameron Efurd, Arkansas
Aaron Ernest, LSU
Nathanael Franks, Arkansas
Matt Hillenbrand, Kentucky
Andrew Irwin, Arkansas
Anthony Leighio, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Eddie Lovett, Florida
Sean Obinwa, Florida
Ricky Robertson, Ole MisS
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Carlyle Roudette, Texas A&M
Stephen Saenz, Auburn
Garrett Scantling, Georgia
David Triassi, Florida
Markesh Woodson, Missouri
Men’s Second-Team All-SEC
Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
James Bonn, Texas A&M
Gregory Coleman, Texas A&M
Omar Craddock, Florida
Wayne Davis II, Texas A&M
Dedric Dukes, Florida
Damar Forbes, LSU
Najee Glass, Florida
Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida
Charles Grethen, Georgia
Hector Hernandez, Texas A&M
Stanley Kebenei, Arkansas
Anthony May, Arkansas
Jeremy Postin, Florida
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Marcus Rowland, Auburn
Leonardo Seymore, Florida
Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Caleb Whitener, Georgia

Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team
60m: Markesh Woodson, Missouri
200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
400m: Eric Janise, Arkansas
800m: Tomas Squella, Arkansas
Mile: Robbie Farnham-Rose, Alabama
3,000m: Austin Whitelaw, Tennessee
5,000m: JL Hines, Florida
60m Hurdles: Joshua Lamers, LSU
HJ: Justin Fondren, Alabama
PV: Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
LJ: Josh McCullan, Alabama
TJ: Jonathon Ilori, Missouri
SP: Ashina Miller, Georgia
WT: Elias Hakansson, Alabama
HEPT: Maicel Uibo, Georgia

Women’s First-Team All-SEC
Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Amani Bryant, Florida
Laura Carleton, LSU
Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Gwendolyn Flowers, Arkansas
Regina George, Arkansas
Denise Hinton, LSU
Hilenn James, Georgia
Charlene Lipsey, LSU
Cally Macumber, Kentucky
Cory McGee, Florida
Sparkle McKnight, Arkansas
LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Alexis Paine, Alabama
Mandy Perkins, Florida
Chanice Porter, Georgia
Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina
Jasmin Stowers, LSU
Agata Strausa, Florida
Chrishuna Williams, Arkansas

Women’s Second-Team All-SEC
Kierre Beckles, South Carolina
Martine Borge, Arkansas
Erica Bougard, Mississippi State
Tyler Brockington, South Carolina
Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M
Ashley Collier, Texas A&M
Keri Emanuel, LSU
Donique Flemings, Texas A&M
Brea Garrett, Texas A&M
Natoya Goule, LSU

Christal Green, South Carolina
Grace Heymsfield, Arkansas
Ivanique Kemp, Arkansas
Kayla Lampe, South Carolina
Sandi Morris, Arkansas
Lucie Ondraschkova, Georgia
Ashton Purvis, Texas A&M
Erika Rucker, South Carolina
Jill Rushin, Missouri
Laura Roxberg, Missouri
Krystle Schade, Alabama
Keri Wood, Arkansas

Women’s SEC All-Freshman Team
60m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
200m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
400m: Shaunae Miller, Georgia
800m: Kimberley Ficenec, Alabama
Mile: Lily Williams, Vanderbilt
3,000m: Hannah Jumper, Vanderbilt
5,000m: Kayla Lampe, South Carolina
60m Hurdles: Samantha Scarlett, Auburn
HJ: Shanice Hall, LSU
PV: Jessica Johnson, Auburn
LJ: Chanice Porter, Georgia
TJ: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
SP: Valentina Muzaric, Auburn
WT: Becky Famurewa, Kentucky
PENT: Therese Jerrnbeck, LSU