Sorrillo Adds Third Scoring Opportunity; Advances in 200m Dash

June 11, 2010

EUGENE, Ore. -- The Kentucky track and field team had a light schedule on day two of the 2010 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships, highlighted by Rondel Sorrillo making the most of his opportunities, qualifying for the final in the 200-meter dash semifinal with a second-place finish at historic Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore., Thursday.

 

Sorrillo moved comfortably into finals in the 200-meter dash after a smooth time of 20.66 put him first in his heat and second overall. The senior sprinter collected eight points for a second-place finish in 200m dash last year at the NCAA Outdoor Championships and holds the third-fastest time collegiately in 2010. The final will be held Saturday at 1:49 p.m. ET/10:49 a.m. PT and will be aired live on CBS. The six-time All-America qualified in the 100m dash and 4x100m relay on day one and will have a chance to put Kentucky among the top-15 teams overall.

 

Multi-event athlete Precious Nwokey finished 13th overall in the heptathlon with 5337 points. The sophomore had an interesting day, doing well in the javelin, one of her weaker events, with a personal-best throw of 95-10/29.20m. That surpassed her previous-best mark of 84-10/25.86m. The heptathlon is comprised of seven events, split over two days of competition. Nwokey was coming off her personal best and school-record mark of 5543 set in Knoxville, Tenn., at the SEC Championships.

 

The women’s 4x400m relay finished in 22nd place with a time of 3:41.42, six seconds outside of a qualifying spot. Coincidently, their school-time of 3:35.14 set at the east preliminary meet was the exact mark that would have been needed to crack the top eight and the finals.

 

Follow all UK track and field action at UKathletics.com. 

 

Women’s Heptathlon

13. Precious Nwokey – 5337

            Day 1: 100m Hurdles – 13.99 (980 pts)

            Day 1: High Jump – 5-07.75/1.72m (879 pts)

            Day 1: Shot Put – 32-05.75/9.90m (469 pts)

            Day 1: 200m Dash – 24.61 (+2.6) (923 pts)

            Day 2: Long Jump – 18-01.75/5.53m (-0.9) (709 pts)

            Day 2: Javelin – 95-10/29.20m (461 pts)

            Day 2: 800m Run – 2:17.19 (862 pts)

 

Men’s 200 Meter Semifinal – 7:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. PT

2. Rondel Sorrillo – 20.66 (-0.3)  

 

Women’s 4x400 Meter Relay Semifinal – 10:05 p.m. ET/7:05 p.m. PT

22. Kentucky – 3:41.42

Jazmyn Shorter

            Jenna Martin

            Brittany Cabbler

            Precious Nwokey

 

Day 3 Schedule – Friday, June 11

Field Events

            Women’s Shot Put – 7:45 p.m. ET/4:45 p.m. PT

                        Ashley Muffet

Running Events

            Men’s 100 Meter Dash Final – 8:25 p.m. ET/5:25 p.m. PT

                        Rondel Sorrillo

 

Day 4 Schedule – Saturday, June 12            

  Running Events

            Men’s 4x100 Meter Relay Final – 1:11 p.m. ET/10:11 a.m. PT

                        Kentucky –       Alex Williams

                                                Rondel Sorrillo

                                                Kwasi Obeng   

                                                Sean Lange

            Men’s 200 Meter Dash Final – 1:49 p.m. ET/10:49 a.m. PT

                          Rondel Sorrillo