Luis Orta Wins 3,000-Meter Steeplechase at Texas Relays

March 29, 2012

Texas Relays Thursday Results Get Acrobat Reader

LEXINGTON, Ky. – University of Kentucky junior distance runner Luis Orta won the men’s 3,000-meter steeplechase on Thursday, leading the Wildcats’ men’s and women’s track and field teams in day two of the 85th Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays.

Orta won the race by 4.27 seconds, crossing the finish line in a career-best time of 8:50.52, the third fastest time in program history. The race was Orta’s first of the outdoor season. The Caracas, Venezuela, native won the men’s 3,000m and 5,000m runs at the 2012 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships, and was later named the SEC Men’s Runner of the Year.

Senior Josh Nadzam finished fourth in section A of the men’s 1,500m run with a time of 3:50.86. In the section B race of the men’s 1,500m, junior Walter Luttrell finished third with a career-best time of 3:55.00. Luttrell was just 1.37 seconds back from first. Junior Megan Wright finished ninth with a time of 4:38.10 in the women’s 1,500m run.

The men’s 4x800m relay team of Keffri Neal, Adam Kahleifeh, Trent Halasek and Robert Scharold finished seventh with a time of 7:32.97

Sophomore Chelsea Oswald, competing in the outdoor season for the first time in her career after injuries sidelined her as a freshman, ran a 17:20.15 in the women’s 5,000m run.

Friday, sophomore Brandon Bagley will compete in the prelims of the men’s 110m hurdles, and sophomore Kayla Parker will race in the women’s 100m hurdles prelims.

A pair of freshmen in Tamyah Pipkin and Keilah Tyson will race in the prelims of the 100m dash. Tyson set the Kentucky freshman record in the 60m (7.36) and 200m (23.69) during the indoor season this past winter.

The Wildcats will have a pair of women’s relays competing Friday. Pipkin, Tyson, Shiara Robinson and Kaylar Parker will team up in the prelims of the 4x100m relay. Tyson, Pipkin, Angelica Whaley and Allison Peare will compete in the 1,600m-sprint medley.

The field events Friday will be the men’s javelin, men’s triple jump and women’s high jump. Competing in the javelin will be freshman Raymond Dykstra, who set the freshman- and school-record in the event at the Bulls Invitational two weeks ago. Freshman Terence Boyd will compete in the triple jump and freshman Joanne Imbert will compete in the high jump.

Fans wishing to follow along with live results can go to For more news and information, including daily recaps and results, follow the Cats on Twitter at “KentuckyTrack” and go to

85th Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays
Mike A. Myers Stadium – Austin, Texas
March 28, 2012 – March 31, 2012

Thursday – March 29, 2012
Men’s 4x800-Meter Relay
7. Kentucky – 7:32.97
Keffri Neal, Adam Kahleifeh, Trent Halasek, Robert Scharold

Men’s 1,500-Meter Run – Section A
4. Josh Nadzam – 3:50.86

Men’s 1,500-Meter Run – Section B
3. Walter Luttrell – 3:55.00

Women’s 1,500-Meter Run
9. Megan Wright – 4:38.10

Men’s 3,000-Meter Steeplechase
1. Luis Orta – 8:50.52

Men’s 5,000-Meter Run
-- Jared Phillips – DNF

Women’s 5,000-Meter Run
10. Chelsea Oswald – 17:20.15

Friday – March 30, 2012
Men’s 110-Meter Hurdles (Prelims)
Brandon Bagley

Women’s 100-Meter Hurdles (Prelims)
Kayla Parker

Women’s 100-Meter Dash (Prelims)
Tamyah Pipkin
Keilah Tyson

Women’s 4x100-Meter Relay (Prelims)
Kentucky – Tamyah Pipkin, Keilah Tyson, Shiara Robinson, Kayla Parker

Women’s 1,600-Sprint Medley Invitational
Kentucky – Keilah Tyson, Tamyah Pipkin, Angelica Whaley, Allison Peare

Men’s Javelin Throw – Section A
Raymond Dykstra

Women’s High Jump – Section B
Joanne Imbert

Men’s Triple Jump – Section B
Terence Boyd

Saturday – March 31, 2012
Men’s Distance Medley
Kentucky – Trent Halasek, Matt Hillenbrand, Adam Kahleifeh, Ben Mason

Women’s Distance Medley
Kentucky – Cally Macumber, Julie Nunn, Allison Peare, Chelsea Oswald

Women’s 1,500-Meter Run – Section A
Allison Peare

Women’s 4x200-Meter Relay
Kentucky – Tamyah Pipkin, Julie Nunn, Angelica Whaley, Kayla Parker

Women’s 4x400-Meter Relay
Kentucky – Julie Nunn, Angelica Whaley, Shiara Robinson, Devinn Cartwright

Men’s One-Mile Run – Jerry Thompson Invitational
Josh Nadzam

Men’s Discus Throw – Section A
Andrew Evans

Women’s High Jump
Terri-Ann Grant

Women’s Shot Put – Section A
Jennifer Svoboda