Sorrillo Attains NCAA Automatic Qualifying Mark in Men's 60m Dash

March 1, 2009

Results |  Photo Gallery 

LEXINGTON, Ky. - On the second day of competition at the 2009 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships at E.J. Nutter Field House, Kentucky sprinter Rondel Sorrillo bolted out of the blocks in the 60-meter dash preliminaries at a clip of 6.60 to earn the top seed in the Sunday final and automatically qualify for a spot in the NCAA Championships in two weeks.

After two days of competition, the Wildcat women stand third overall with 28 points while the men rank ninth overall at six points after just five completed events.

Sorrillo’s mark stands fourth nationally and ranks second all-time at UK. The junior’s mark was just one of the Wildcats’ 10 NCAA marks earned on Saturday.

In the women’s weight throw, junior Kristin Smith placed second overall and earned an NCAA provisional mark with a personal-best throw of 61-11.50. Her throw ranks second all-time at UK to current record holder and teammate Heather Smith. UK junior Heather Smith finished third overall with a distance of 60-10.75. The Wildcat throwers earned 14 points toward the UK team total.

Freshman Justin Austin broke the Kentucky freshman record that he set two weeks ago at Iowa State in the men’s 200m dash prelims on Saturday with a finish of 21.08 to place into the final. The new standard improved his fourth-best finish all-time for UK in the event and earned him an NCAA provisional mark. Austin also picked up a provisional in the men’s 60m dash, clocking in at 6.73 to earn a spot in the final.

Teammate Jose Acevedo finished steps behind Austin with an NCAA time in the 200m dash. Acevedo crossed the finish line with a season-best mark of 21.11. The senior earned another provisional in the men’s 400m dash prelims. Acevedo ran a personal-best time of 46.98 to make the Sunday final and improve his sixth-best all-time mark at UK.

Fellow seniors Rashaud Scott and Chase Madison both picked up NCAA provisional marks in the men’s shot put. Scott placed fifth overall with a heave of 59-5.50. Madison finished two spots behind in seventh with a top measurement of 58-8. Scott’s four points along with Madison’s two tallies gave the Cats six team points.

In the 60m hurdles, senior Mikel Thomas finished second in the preliminaries with a time of 7.81 to rack up another NCAA mark in the event.

Senior Jessica Ortman took home a provisional mark in the women’s 800m run prelims with a time of 2:08,95 to qualify for the final. In the mile, Ortman advanced to her second final clocking in at 4:52.97.

In the men’s mile, sophomore Adam Henken qualified for the final with a time of 4:11.77.

Junior Katherine Peterson picked up the final team point for the Wildcats with an eighth-place finish in the women’s 3,000 meters. Peterson ran a clip of 9:47.84 in the evening’s final race.

In the women's pole vault, Lexington native Samantha Stenzel tied the freshman indoor mark held by teammate Mary Chris Durham. Stenzel cleared the bar at 11-11.75 to match Durham's record.

Competition resumes at 11:00 a.m. ET Sunday with field events while running events begin at 1:30 p.m..

A full recap of the Cats’ performances will be available after the final day of competition at

Wildcat Scorers by Event – SEC Indoor Championships after Day 2

WOMEN (points earned) - 28

1. Ashley Trimble – 3,991 (10) SEC CHAMPION
6. Danielle Sampley – 3,645 (3)

Weight Throw

2. Kristin Smith – 61-11.50 (8)
3. Heather Smith – 60-10.75 (6)

Women’s 3,000 Meters

8. Katherine Peterson - 9:47.84 (1)

MEN (points earned) - 6
Shot Put

5. Rashaud Scott – 59-05.50 (4)
7. Chase Madison – 58-08.00 (2)

1) Arkansas 45
2) LSU 32   
4) Tennessee 25
5) Mississippi State 19
6) Florida 18
7) Alabama 10.50
8) Ole Miss 10   
9) Auburn 3
10) South Carolina 2.50
11) Georgia 2   

1) Arkansas 37        
2) Florida 33
3) Tennessee 32
4) Auburn 25
5) South Carolina 19
6) Alabama 14
7) Ole Miss 12
8) Georgia 11
9) KENTUCKY 6        
9) LSU 6

Kentucky SEC Indoor Championship Participants Competing on Sunday Mar. 1

Men’s Weight Throw – 11:00 a.m. ET
Alek Grietens
Rashaud Scott

Women’s High Jump – 11:00 a.m. ET
Ashley Newby
Precious Nwokey
Natalie Wise

Men’s Triple Jump – 11:00 a.m. ET

David Banks
Steve Crouse

Men’s Pole Vault – 11:00 a.m. ET

Mike Mendelsohn

Men’s 60 Meter Hurdles Final – 1:30 p.m. ET
Mikel Thomas

Men’s 60 Meter Dash Final – 1:50 p.m. ET
Justin Austin
Rondel Sorrillo

Men’s Mile Run Final – 2:05 p.m. ET
Adam Henken

Women’s Mile Run Final – 2:15 p.m. ET
Jessica Ortman

Men’s 400 Meter Run Final – 2:25 p.m. ET
Jose Acevedo

Women’s Triple Jump – 2:30 p.m. ET
Ke’Undra Bishop

Men’s 5,000 Meter Run – 2:45 p.m. ET
Colin Heenan
Bruce Hordusky

Women’s Shot Put – 3:00 p.m. ET
Mary Angell
Kristin Smith
Emilee Strot
Jennifer Svoboda

Women’s 800 Meter Run Final – 3:20 p.m. ET
Jessica Ortman

Men’s 200 Meter Dash Final – 3:30 p.m. ET
Jose Acevedo
Justin Austin

Women’s 5,000 Meter Run – 3:50 p.m. ET
Katherine Peterson

Men’s Distance Medley Relay – 4:10 p.m. ET

Women’s Distance Medley Relay – 4:25 p.m. ET

Men’s 4x400 Meter Relay – 4:40 p.m. ET

Women’s 4x400 Meter Relay – 4:55 p.m. ET