Luttrell Wins 5,000m to Wrap Up VT Elite Meet

Feb. 5, 2011

VT Elite Meet Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The University of Kentucky track and field team wrapped up competition at the Virginia Tech Elite Meet with a win by junior Walter Luttrell in the men's 5,000-meter run and placed six other student-athletes in the top six of their respective events, Saturday in Blacksburg, Va.

Luttrell secured his victory with a personal-best and SEC leading time of 14:29.50 in the men's 5,000m run, claiming the Wildcats lone win of the day. The junior is now the two-time defending champion and record holder in the event at the VT Elite Meet, previously winning with a time of 14:41.65, Feb. 5, 2010.

"I was very pleased with Walter," head coach Don Weber said. "It was personal for him becuase he was defending champion and meet record holder in the event. He was on a mission to repeat as champion and break the record, and he did both in a big way with a 15 second improvement."

The men's 4x400m relay team, that consists of freshman Kadeem Kushimo, junior Keith Hayes, sophomore Cody Miller and senior Sharif Webb, closed out competition Saturday with a third-place finish in 3:15.24. Kushimo led off with an opening 400m time of 49.49 followed by Hayes who circled the track in 48.66. Hayes handed off to the third leg, Miller, who finished in 48.60 passing the baton to Webb who contributed the fastest 400m time of 48.51. This 4x4 combination set their season-best time last Saturday at the Rod McCravy in 3:12.12.

UK assembled its first distance medley relay team of the year that included all freshmen with Matt Hillenbrand running the opening 1,200m (3:03.23) followed by Kyron Jospeh in the 400m (48.67), Adam Kahleifeh in the 800m (1:55.45) and Stacey Eden in the mile (4:23.46). The foursome used a collective effort to capture a fifth-place finish in 10:10.80.

Sophomore Cody Miller edged out his teammate Hayes by .01 of a second to take seventh place in the men's 400m dash with a season-best time of 49.14. Hayes finished eighth in 49.15, making his first appearance in the 400m this season. Three freshmen, Cortlandt Harris, Robbie Graham and Brandon Bagley finished 18th, 20th and 27th, respectively.

Senior Mary Angell recorded her third consecutive top-six finish in the women's shot put with a throw of 50-07.25/15.42m. The seniors season-best mark of 51-01.75 currently sits second in the conference. On the men's side in the shot put, senior Colin Boevers approached his season-best mark with a long throw of 56-00.00/17-07. The native of Salt Lake City, Utah, has a season-long toss of 56-02.00/17.12m, which ranks seventh in the SEC.

Kentucky will take split squads to the Akron Invitational in Akron, Ohio, the Husky Invitational in Seattle, Wash. and the Tyson Invitational in Fayetteville, Ark. on Friday, Feb. 11 and Saturday, Feb. 12.

For continuous updates follow the UK track and field team on twitter @KentuckyTrack, and at

Saturday's Field Events

Women's High Jump (Auto: 1.85m)
6. Terri-Ann Grant - 5-06.50/1.69m
NH. Ashley Newby

Women's Pole Vault (Auto: 4.30m)
6. Samantha Stenzel - 12-02.00/3.71m
T9. Shelby Kennard - 11-06.25/3.51m
Men's Shot Put (Auto: 19.30m)
7. Colin Boevers - 56-00.00/17.07m
13. Isiah Kent - 49-11.75/15.23m

Women's Shot Put (Auto: 16.90m)
6. Mary Angell - 50-07.25/15.42m

Saturday's Running Events

Men's Distance Medley Relay (Auto: 9:32.00)
5. Kentucky `A' - 10:10.80
    1,200m: Matt Hillenbrand - 3:03.23
    400m: Kyron Joseph - 48.67
    800m: Adam Kahleifeh - 1:55.45
    Mile: Stacey Eden - 4:23.46

Men's 400m Dash (Auto: 46.15)
7. Cody Miller - 49.14
8. Keith Hayes - 49.15
18. Cortlandt Harris - 50.80
20. Robbie Graham - 51.08
27. Brandon Bagley - 52.17

Men's 5,000m Run (Auto: 13:47.00)
1. Walter Luttrell - 14:29.50

Women's 4x400m Relay (Auto: 3:35.20)
8. Kentucky `A' - 3:49.44
    Jazmyn Shorter - 56.69   
    Precious Nwokey - 55.17
    Shiara Robinson - 56.28
    Ashley Newby - 1:01.32

Men's 4x400m Relay (Auto: 3:06.50)
3. Kentucky `A' - 3:15.24
    Kadeem Kushimo - 49.49
    Keith Hayes - 48.66
    Cody Miller - 48.60
    Sharif Webb - 48.51