Swimming and Diving Graduates 11 Over Weekend

May 10, 2010

LEXINGTON, Ky. - Eleven members of the University of Kentucky swimming and diving team completed undergraduate requirements this semesters and celebrated graduation ceremonies, held Saturday at Heritage Hall.

All-Americans Warren Grobbelaar, a mechanical engineering major, Kyle Greene, who earned his degree in finance, and Megan Pulskamp, a graduate of Integrated Communications Studies, were among the Wildcats who participated in Saturday's commencement ceremonies. Other graduating seniors included All-SEC academic honorees Marco Iemmola, Justin Max, Travis Muzzillo, Chris Richard, Kevin Ryan, Julio Vallette, Anna Sirmon and Sydney Witzky.

The UK athletic department honored the women's swimming and diving team as its academic team of the year at its annual Catspy Awards. In addition, the swimming and diving teams honored several student-athletes with team awards at the teams' annual awards banquet.

Junior Chatham Penrod and senior Alex Forbes were named the most valuable swimmers with junior Lisa Faulkner being tabbed the most valuable diver. Sophomore Jenna Willis and senior Julio Vallette were tabbed the most improved swimmers during the 2009-10 season, while freshman John Fox was named the most improved diver. Freshmen Megan Eppler and Zach McGinnis earned Freshman of the Year honors. The Swimming and Diving Booster Club Award winners were junior Kayla Sergesketter and Grobbelaar. Ryan earned the Spirit Award for the second time in his career. 100-percent award winners were given to senior Casey Miller and Greene. Max and Sergesketter earned the scholarship awards.

The Wildcats' swimming teams combined to earn 27 spots on the 2010 Southeastern Conference Academic Honor Roll to further the academic success of the 2009-10 season. The award winners are:

Grant Cooksey
Amanda Lehotan
Kyle Greene
Anna Mattox
Marco Iemmola
Casey Miller
Justin Max
Mandy Myers
Travis Muzzillo
Jenna Newsome
Tyler Reed
Chatham Penrod
Chris Richard
Chelsea Peterson
Ben Russell
Megan Pulskamp
Matt Russell
Kayla Sergesketter
Kevin Ryan
Anna Sirmon
Julio Vallette
Jenna Willis
Claire Archibald
Sydney Witzky
Lindsey Graessle
Kelsi Hall

Follow along all year long at UKathletics.com for information regarding the UK swimming and diving squads.