Kentucky Softball Caps Off Alumni Weekend, Names Captains

Box Score (PDF)

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The University of Kentucky softball team hosted its annual softball Alumni Weekend event, capping off the record-setting season that was 2016, and naming captains for 2017 in addition to winning a fall exhibition, 5-0, over Lincoln Memorial University on Friday night.

In the game that kicked off the weekend Friday night, four Kentucky pitchers combined to throw a no-hitter over LMU as the Wildcats scored three in the bottom of the fourth and two in the bottom of the fifth inning to win, 5-0.

Sophomore Abbey Cheek went 2-for-4 on the night with an RBI, while fellow sophomore Katie Reed went 1-for-3 with a two-RBI triple.

The Kentucky pitching staff threw four different pitchers who in total allowed no runs or hits, two walks and struck out nine LMU batters. Shannon Smith, Meagan Prince and Larissa Spellman each threw two innings, with Ashley Ruiz throwing three outs in the game.

Kentucky’s next three fall games come in Bowling Green, Kentucky, over the weekend with games against Volunteer State, Columbia State and Western Kentucky on Saturday and Sunday.

2017 Captains Named

Head coach Rachel Lawson, who enters her 10th year as the head coach at Kentucky, announced that six players would be captaining the 2017 squad, led by three seniors. Brooklin Hinz, Meagan Prince, Breanne Ray, Katie Reed, Jenny Schaper and Shannon Smith were all named captains via a voting process by the Kentucky Softball program.

2016 Award Winners

Per tradition, the 2016 team award winners were announced at the tailgate prior to Kentucky Football’s win vs. Vanderbilt on Saturday afternoon. The Most Valuable Players of the 2016 season went to All-American Kelsey Nunley and Meagan Prince. Speedy slapper Sylver Samuel took home Offensive Player of the Year honors, with freshman catcher Jenny Schaper earning Defensive Player of the Year annals. Slugger Abbey Cheek was named the team’s Rookie of the Year.

Rookie of the Year – Abbey Cheek

Iron Cat Award – Brooklin Hinz

Scholar Athlete of the Year – Breanne Ray

Defensive Player of the Year – Jenny Schaper

Offensive Player of the Year – Sylver Samuel

Most Valuable Player – Kelsey Nunley & Meagan Prince

Blue Heart Award – Maisie Steed

For the latest on the Kentucky softball team, follow @UKSoftball on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook, as well as on the web at