2011 CATSPY Awards Presented

April 25, 2011

Photo Gallery

LEXINGTON, Ky. - University of Kentucky Athletics presented 26 honors at the ninth-annual CATSPY Awards, held Monday at Memorial Coliseum to recognize athletic and academic performance during the 2010-11 year. With co-winners in some categories, a total of five teams and 21 individuals were recognized.

Men's basketball and the rifle team were named Team of the Year for their achievements. The basketball team advanced to the Final Four for the 14th time in program history, while also winning the program's 27th SEC Tournament Championship. The rifle team won the program's first national championship, while also posting an unbeaten regular-season slate in the Great American Rifle Conference Championships.

The Mr. and Miss Wildcat Awards are given for all-around excellence in athletics, academics, character and service. Eric Quigley of men's tennis was named Mr. Wildcat, while volleyball's Lauren Rapp and Megan Yocke of softball were co-winners of Miss Wildcat.

For the second-straight year, the Female Athlete of the Year was awarded to Victoria Dunlap, who was drafted 11th overall in the WNBA Draft and was named Southeastern Conference Player of the Year by The Associated Press and SEC Defensive Player of the Year by the league coaches as one of the nation's most versatile players. The Male Athlete of the Year was awarded to football's Randall Cobb, who was named first-team All-America in 2010 as an all-purpose player by The Associated Press, ESPN.com and SportsIllustrated.com. He was a consensus first-team All-Southeastern Conference selection.

The Female Performance of the Year Award went to Chanda Bell of softball for her school-record 16-strikeout, no hit performance against Colorado State. The Male Performance of the Year Award was received by Ethan Settlemires of rifle for posting a 590 on the final relay to clinch the program's first NCAA team title. The day before, he won the NCAA individual championship on Friday with a 590 in smallbore, becoming the first individual NCAA champion in smallbore in program history.

The Academic Teams of the Year were men's and women's cross country. The Scholar-Athletes of the Year were Kayla Sergesketter (women's swimming and diving) and T.J. Daugherty (baseball).

A complete list of awards is below:

Character Award
Caitlyn Ciokajlo (Gymnastics)

Community Service Award
Ashleigh Gustafson (Softball)
Josh Nadzam (Track and Field/Cross Country)

Supporting Role
Megan Moir (Women's Golf)

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year
Kayla Sergesketter (Women's Swimming and Diving)

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
T.J. Daugherty (Baseball)

Female Academic Team of the Year
Cross Country

Male Academic Team of the Year
Cross Country

Female Rookie of the Year
Caitlin Landis (Soccer)

Male Rookie of the Year
Brandon Knight (Basketball)

Female Performance of the Year
Chanda Bell (Softball)

Male Performance of the Year
Ethan Settlemires (Rifle)

Scratch Award
Walter Luttrell (Track and Field/Cross Country)

One Shining Moment
Men's Basketball

Bill Keightley "Assist" Award
Sarah Gerichs (GA for Athletic Training)

Blue Heart Award
Amber Smith (Women's Basketball)

Coach(es) of the Year
John Calipari (Basketball)
Rachel Lawson (Softball)
Harry Mullins (Rifle)

K-Association Female Athlete of the Year
Victoria Dunlap (Basketball)

K-Association Male Athlete of the Year
Randall Cobb (Football)

Miss Wildcat
Lauren Rapp (Volleyball)
Megan Yocke (Softball)

Mr. Wildcat
Eric Quigley (Men's Tennis)

Teams of the Year
Men's Basketball