2005 CATSPY Award Winners Announced

UK Athletics held the third annual CATSPY Awards Tuesday night at Rupp Arena. A spinoff of ESPN's ESPY awards, the CATSPY's celebrate the academic and athletic achievements of UK student-athletes.

Nearly 500 student-athletes plus many family, friends, staff and fans enjoyed the show where 24 awards were given out for everything from Rookie of the Year to the prestigious Mr. and Miss Wildcat. Below are this year's award winners.

2005 CATSPY Award Winners

(Listed in order of presentation)

Female Rookie of the Year Taryn Ignacio Diving
Male Rookie of the Year Rajon Rondo Basketball
Male Scholar Athlete of the Year Jarret Christie Soccer
Female Scholar Athlete of the Year Kara Prestigiacomo Gymnastics
Supporting Role Award Stephanie Stumbo Basketball
Lifetime Achievement Award Bill Keightley Basketball
Male Performance of the Year Daniel Cruz Swimming
Female Performance of the Year Taryn Ignacio Diving
Community Service Award Lindsay Cameron Gymnastics
Male Play of the Year Patrick Sparks Basketball
Female Play of the Year Michelle Gales Gymnastics
Blue Heart Award (Comeback) Danielle Slupski Soccer
Men's Team Coach of the Year Brian Craig Golf
Women's Team Coach of the Year Mark Guilbeau Tennis
Courage Award Sevin Sucurovic Football
Scratch Award (Non-Scholarship Athlete) (tie) Matt McCutchan
Amy Sowash
Female Athlete of the Year Aibika Kalsarieva Tennis
Male Athlete of the Year (tie) Jesse Witten
John Holmes
Mr. Wildcat Chuck Hayes Basketball
Miss Wildcat Sara Potts Basketball
Academic Team of the Year Volleyball
Women's Team of the Year Tennis
Men's Team of the Year (tie) Golf