2012 CATSPY Awards Presented

April 23, 2012

Videos | Photo Gallery

LEXINGTON, Ky. - University of Kentucky Athletics presented 26 honors at the 10th annual CATSPY Awards, held Monday at Memorial Coliseum to recognize athletic and academic performance during the 2011-12 year. With co-winners in some categories, a total of four teams and 23 individuals were recognized.

Men's and women's basketball were named Team of the Year for their achievements.  The men's team won the school's eighth national championship while advancing to the Final Four for the 15th time in program history, while also winning the program's 45th SEC Championship.  The women's team won the program's first SEC championship in 30 years while advancing to the Elite 8 for the second time in three years.

The Mr. and Miss Wildcat Awards are given for all-around excellence in athletics, academics, character and service.  Luis Orta (cross country/track) and Eric Quigley (tennis) were co-winners of the Mr. Wildcat award, while Ann Armes (volleyball), Rachel Riley (softball) and Keyla Snowden (basketball) were co-winners of the Miss Wildcat award.

The Female Athlete of the Year was awarded to A'dia Mathies, who was only the second Wildcat to be named to the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) women's All-America team. She was also voted third team All-America by the Associated Press and was named the SEC Player of the Year. The Male Athlete of the Year was awarded to basketball's Anthony Davis. Davis, the National Player of the Year and 2012 Final Four Most Outstanding Player, blocked a national-best 4.7 shots per game. He broke the school and SEC records and NCAA freshman records for blocks in a season with 186. He finished the season with 20 double-doubles which was the most in the SEC this season while also tying the UK freshman record for double-doubles.

The Female Performance of the Year Award went to Mathies for her 34-point performance in UK's win over sixth ranked Tennessee, which included the game-winner with 4.2 seconds remaining.  The Male Performance of the Year Award was received by Luis Orta when he became the first athlete in the SEC to win both the 3,000m and 5,000m in the SEC Indoor Championship since 2007.

The Academic Teams of the Year were men's and women's cross country.  The Scholar-Athletes of the Year were Ashleigh Gustafson (softball) and Billy Joe Murphy (football).

A complete list of awards is below:

Character Award

Kelsey Hunyadi (Women's Soccer)
Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (Men's Basketball)

Community Service Award

Ann Armes (Volleyball)
Ashleigh Gustafson (Softball)
Jake Lewellen (Football)
Megan Moir (Women's Golf)
Storey Morris (Gymnastics)
Josh Nadzam (Men's Cross Country/Track)

Supporting Role 

Darius Miller (Men's Basketball)
Keyla Snowden (Women's Basketball)

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year

Ashleigh Gustafson (Softball)

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year

Billy Joe Murphy (Football)

Female Academic Team of the Year

Cross Country

Male Academic Team of the Year

Cross Country

Female Rookie of the Year

Bria Goss (Women's Basketball)

Male Rookie of the Year

Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (Men's Basketball)

Female Performance of the Year 

A'dia Mathies (Women's Basketball)

Male Performance of the Year

Luis Orta (Men's Cross Country/Track)

Scratch Award 

Jessi Greenberg

One Shining Moment

Men's Basketball

Bill Keightley "Assist" Award

Brett Miller (Men's Basketball Manager)

Blue Heart Award

Whitney Rose (Gymnastics)

Coach(es) of the Year

John Calipari (Men's Basketball)
Matthew Mitchell (Women's Basketball)

K-Association Female Athlete of the Year

A'dia Mathies (Women's Basketball)

K-Association Male Athlete of the Year

Anthony Davis (Men's Basketball)

Miss Wildcat

Ann Armes (Volleyball)
Rachel Riley (Softball)
Keyla Snowden (Women's Basketball)

Mr. Wildcat

Luis Orta (Men's Cross Country/Track)
Eric Quigley (Men's Tennis)

Teams of the Year

Men's Basketball
Women's Basketball


Mr. and Miss Wildcat

The Rising


Senior Tribute

One Shining Moment