Athletics News
UK Athletics Holds Inaugural Catspy's

April 28, 2003

University of Kentucky Athletics held the inaugural Catspy Awards, a gala event honoring Wildcat student-athletes, Monday night. A spin-off of the popular ESPY's held by ESPN every summer, the Catspy's began with a dinner at Memorial Coliseum followed by the awards presentations at the Singletary Center on the UK campus.

Over 500 student-athletes attended the event, as awards were given out for everything from Male and Female Athlete of the Year to the Community Service Award. When the night concluded, 24 awards had been presented.

The most prestigious awards, Mr. and Miss Wildcat, were presented to football's Antonio Hall and gymnastics star Mindy Smith.

Below is a list of all the winners from tonight's event.

Rookies of the Year
Male - Jesse Witten - Tennis
Female - Vicki Goss - Rifle

Performances of the Year
Male - Clayton Moss - Diving
Female - Janet Crawford - Track

Athletes of the Year
Male - Keith Bogans - Men's Basketball and Artose Pinner - Football
Female - Sarah Witten - Tennis

Teams of the Year
Male - Basketball
Female - Tennis

Supporting Role
Danielle Petrisko - Tennis

Scratch Award
Deion Holts - Football

Mr. Wildcat
Antonio Hall - Football

Miss Wildcat
Mindy Smith - Gymnastics

Scholar Athletes of the Year
Male - Cody Nath - Swimming
Female - Simi Adeagbo

Community Service Award
Jed Bassett - Football

Character Award
Gordon Tyler - Baseball

Blue Heart Award
Ronnie Riley - Football

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mike Haley

Courage Award
Leah Kerstetter - Track

Team Coaches of the Year
Male - Tubby Smith - Basketball
Female - Mark Guilbeau - Tennis

Plays of the Year
Male - Artose Pinner - Football
Female - Kristen Jedlo - Soccer