Cat Scratches
Interactive Twitter Facebook

More SEC dominance

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for Thumbnail image for SEC LOGO UK BLUE.jpgWe already knew when South Carolina and Florida advanced to the College World Series finals that a Southeastern Conference team would win the national championship for the third straight year.

But now that South Carolina has made it official and beaten the Gators on back-to-back nights for the program's second straight national title, it's worth mentioning that the conference's championship marks the first time a league has won three straight since the Pac-10 did it three straight times from 1986-88. It would have been four straight had Fresno State not finished its Cinderella run in 2008 and defeated Georgia in the finals.

LSU captured the SEC's first national championship in this current title run in 2009.

It's another dominating streak for a conference that has won five straight national titles in football. As Kevin Scarbinsky from the Birmingham News wrote a few days ago, SEC baseball's only peer is SEC football.


No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment

Recent Comments