Athletic Department
Athletic Training StaffVisiting Team InformationStudent-Athlete InformationNutritionAlumni

Athletic Training

Every student-athlete at the University of Kentucky is entitled to state-of-the-art medical care while participating as a Kentucky Wildcat. The Athletic Training/Medical Staff coordinates and delivers professional and comprehensive preventative treatment, rehabilitation and counseling services to all UK athletes. The Athletic Medical Staff is comprised of a Head Team Physician, Sports Medicine Team Physicians and Orthopedic Team Physicians, as well as several Physicians in specialty areas that are available for consultations. The full-time certified Athletic Training Staff consists of a Director of Sports Medicine, Head Athletic Trainer, and five Staff Assistants. There are 11 certified graduate assistants, and several undergraduate students that play a vital role in the Athletic Training Program.

Staff Athletic Trainers

Name Title/Sports Covered Phone Email
Jim Madaleno Director of Sports Medicine/Head Athletic Trainer, Football (859) 257-6521 madalen@uky.edu
Gabe Amponsah Senior Athletic Trainer- Football, Swim/Dive (859) 257-6521 gamponsah@uky.edu
Chris Simmons Senior Athletic Trainer - Men's Basketball, M. Golf (859) 257-6490 chris.simmons@uky.edu
Courtney Jones Senior Athletic Trainer - Women's Basketball, Rifle (859) 257-6661 courtneyjones@uky.edu
Walt McCombs Senior Athletic Trainer - M/W Soccer (859) 257-4222 wmmcco2@uky.edu
Ian McElhenney Assistant Athletic Trainer - Baseball, Softball (859) 257-4222 ian.mcelhenney@uky.edu
Katy Poole Assitant Athletic Trainer - Volleyball, Gymnastics, W. Golf (859) 257-2750 katy.poole@uky.edu
Lydia Johnson Assistant Athletic Trainer - M/W Track and Field, Cross Country (859) 257-4222 lydia.johnson@uky.edu
Taylor Eavenson Assistant Athletic Trainer - Football, M/W Tennis, M/W Cheer (859) 257-8499 taylor.spyker@uky.edu

Support Staff

Name Title/Sports Covered Phone Email
Monica Fowler Sports Nutritionist (859) 257-7768 mefowl2@uky.edu
Misty Conrad Administrative Assistant (859) 257-6521 misty.conrad@uky.edu
Kim Spencer Insurance Coordinator (859) 257-4191 kimberly.spencer@uky.edu